Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems XP8000E

Generac Power Systems XP8000E

Large enough to power a lot of tools and equipment on the job site, the XP8000E offers electric start, Generac’s OHVI® engine, and GFCI protection.
Overall rating:
4.717 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
58 out of 6097%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
145 Questions | 154 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews XP8000E
Review 1 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse Generator that can handle most household needs

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer avatar
from Bow
State:NH - New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Without buying a whole house, gas powered generator, this is the best deal you can get. This generator is powerful, reliable, and easy to operate. I have experienced no problems with my generator, and have been able to keep my family comfortable during power outages and other events where this device is required.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
davem
toronto
great generator
Posted June 3, 2015
good customer service, for broken part from shipping, great work horse.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric start

PostedMarch 8, 2016
Customer avatar
from West Portsmouth
State:OH - Ohio
Age:45-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The battery that came with my generator was dead I took it out and charged it. Put the cables on correct bolted it back up and nothing. Is there a fuse box hidden behind the panels? Maybe a fuse needs replaced.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 8, 2016
Please know that a battery that has not been properly charged will eventually lose its charge and die; a battery that is extremely low or dead cannot be recharged and will need to be replaced. To inquire about the availability of a replacement battery in your local area, we would recommend visiting your local auto parts store or contacting an independent authorized dealer in your local area. To locate an independent authorized dealer closest to you, use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locat... . It is important to note that the XP8000E portable generator requires the use of a 12VDC Ahr battery, which should be charged at least once every 30 days for no longer than 48 hours continuously. This information, along with other maintenance-related recommendations, can be found in the Maintenance section of your product's owner's manual. If you no longer have access to this documentation, we would recommend using your unit's model or serial number to search for your product's documentation here: http://www.generac.com/service-supp... . If you have any other product-related comments, questions or concerns after referring to this information, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722); we are available 24/7.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Generator

PostedFebruary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
from Gulf Breeze
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this generator all of the time to power a number of heat presses for our mobile t-shirt business. My XP8000E has never let me down. The only issue that I have is that the 120V GFCI outlets are now too sensitive and continually trip even with the slightest load. Thank goodness for the 30amp 120/240V outlet!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup generator

PostedDecember 13, 2015
Customer avatar
from Hailey
State:ID - Idaho
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My XG8000E was well packaged, easy to set up and fired up on the first crank after topping up the oil. It's run great (I've already got 15 hours on it) and I'm looking at years of trouble free use. I especially appreciate the spare oil/air filters and spark plug. Thanks Generac!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fires up like a Marine, purrs like a kitten

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
from Chattanooga
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our XP8000 was easy to assemble, is easy to move when needed, and runs like a champion. Has served us well, twice, since we purchased it in September. Now looking forward to the next winter storm.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great feathers

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
from Oranjestad
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We work our Generac XP8000E from Monday to Friday , sometimes 20 hours a day and they always delivers . we have six of them and our oldest is eight years old and still work as the day I got it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was great for 4 years

PostedNovember 12, 2015
Customer avatar
from Mariposa
State:CA - California
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had this generator for 4 years and used it often. It stopped giving us any power. When we took it in for service they told us the "electrical" part was no longer working. They kept it for 2 months, we finally went and picked it back up. About to take it somewhere else. It powered everything we needed it to, the refrigerator, the tv, the air conditioner, it's a real work horse. I would still recommend this generator and am hoping ours is back running soon.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700November 13, 2015
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing with the unit after years of quality operation. If you need help locating an independent authorized service provider in your local area for any diagnostic and/or servicing work that may be required, please call us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) or use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locat... . We want to make sure that your unit will be operable for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

,,,Great product

PostedOctober 17, 2015
Customer avatar
from Kenosha
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just received my unit. Xp8000 got it to replace a gp 7500 just because of the lower harmonic distortion. This thing came packed well but I was missing a couple of parts. The axal for the wheels and one mount for the axel. I'm still waiting for a reply from my dealer. On a performance note this thing is a monster not overly loud. Idle feature great upgrade. Powers anything I plug in to it without problem. It's a little heavy but I feel it's worth it just for protection from getting bumped by anything in the garage. It would have got a perfect review except for the missing pieces. I'm sure Generac will make it right though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700October 19, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review of the XP8000E. We are sorry to learn of your missing parts. Please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your personal unit. Once we are able to acquire this information, we should be able to help you obtain any parts that you may currently need.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The new XP Generator is the best yet.

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
from Saint Augustine
State:FL - Florida
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have owned several generators over the past 10 years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built?

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
from Knoxville
State:IA - Iowa
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These generators have a terrific reputation, which is why I bought one, however, this one is starting out rather dubiously. Upon arrival at the dealers, it was discovered the idle control wire leads were no longer connected to the coil. The dealer called and found out the part was in stock, but we still had to wait 10-15 days to receive it. Even after calling and asking why, and was told it would be overnighted, it still would take another 4 days to receive the part. Inspection/Service/parts backup are severely lacking here. Very disappointed. After the part was installed, the generator started right up and powered my whole home as promised. It certainly lives up to the generac name and reputation, once the part was installed. I look forward to not having to use it, but knowing it's there and ready is a life saver, as we live in Iowa and sometimes the weather can be a little unpredictable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from detroit
State:MI - Michigan
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only generator ill ever buy, great product design and quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
from West Chester
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We use this to power our entire home with a crossover switch when the power goes out. It runs our entire house with no problem. We have all electricity in 2500 sq ft home and can use stove, etc. highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent, powerful and reliable

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
State:MI - Michigan
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this unit to upgrade from a 5500 watt Generac. I find it is well built, easy starting and powers my whole house with no problem. Only two things I can fault. The semi pneumatic wheels get flat spots from the weight of the unit. This was remedied by replacing them with full pneumatic wheels found at a popular importer. The second thing was battery failure and finding a replacement. No problem, I just start it with a jump start battery pack. Have used the unit several times during power failures and had no problems. Good fuel economy also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent features, unbelievable reliability

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
from Chester Springs
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned my Generac XP8000E for 3 years and have had to use it over extended periods of power outages in our part of rural Pennsylvania. However, in between those uses it sits for months at a time. When I pull it out, it starts right up, even if I forgot to drain last years gas. Great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy set up and running

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from Dayville
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of the box to a dry run was 1 hr. All has work great. Still have to wait for a full work out till my transfer switch is installed.
My unit backs up Jobsite, Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NSASarge
Yanceyville, NC
The only one to trust for power when you need it.
Posted May 31, 2015
Have used my XP8000E for several years now. Switched to full synthetic oil to help it run cool and prolong the life of the engine. Any air cooled engine will benefit from full synthetic oil. We run a shaved ice business and occasionally must use a generator. This EP8000E is ideal for us and never fails to start or run. I have installed an exterior outlet to power our house in the event of a power failure. We have replaced the electric start battery twice now. This is the only problem we have had with the generator, HOWEVER, it starts with one pull of the chord anyway! Generac should invest in a "built-in" charging system for the on-board battery and keep the external charger too. I plan to use a "Battery Tender" to keep the next battery in perfect condition. IF this generator ever dies, I will buy another. However, that will most likely be a long time from now.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Features, Appears to be Solid Built.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
from Clarkston
State:MI - Michigan
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased one in November 2013
returned to retailer for exchange due to a few concerns. So far the new unit appears to be trouble free. Assembly is pretty simple and it appears that Generac put a lot of thought into the packaging so that there would be no damage in shipping and assembly would be simple. Started up immediately after assembly. Capable of running my well pump, furnace lights etc. It comes with a nice heavy 4 outlet cord, however I would prefer a cord that would adapt the generator 30 amp outlet to the house 30 amp generator receptacle box as this is a prime feature is to be able to run the house. But overall appears to be a solid well built generator
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Design

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Naples
State:NY - New York
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose the Generac XP8000 because it is the best designed generator in it's class.
It's engine is specifically designed to power a generator and is pressure-lubricated.
I have owned generators made by motorcycle and power products manufacturers, but their engines are one-size-fits-all, when it comes to applications. The same engine is used on a generator, trash pump and a couple other pieces of equipment. And theirs is splash-lubricated. The only issue I had was when hooking up to a home power panel. The 240V outlet is protected by a GFCI, which is great on 120V circuits, but on 240V the GFCI sensed an unbalanced load and 'thought' it was a ground fault. We had to by-pass the GFCI. Great product!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Unit, worth the money.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
from Burlington
State:ON - Ontario
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality was evident from opening the box to set up. Machine started right up and works fantastic.
Love the power and the fact I can use it at home and the cottage.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Generator was easy to set up and start

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from Greenville
State:MO - Missouri
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Generator was easy to set up and start. Noise level was low compared to some I have heard. It is easy to move around and seems to be well built. It is for back up power for a few things in my home. I hope I don't have to use it very much, but when I do, I sure it will do the job. One feature that is nice is how you can plug in and charge the battery without removing it from the Generator.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Unit

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
from Upper Sandusky
State:OH - Ohio
Age:Over 65
This purchase was for:Camping
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just purchased the unit but I assembled it and put oil in it and hooked up the battery and it started right up? It looks like a well made unit and I'm hoping I never have to use it? I'm using it for power outages!! Good price for this size unit.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>