Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems XP8000E

Generac Power Systems XP8000E

Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
49 out of 49100%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
132 Questions | 137 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews XP8000E
Review 1 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse Generator that can handle most household needs

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Larian LeQuella
from Bow
State:NH - New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Without buying a whole house, gas powered generator, this is the best deal you can get. This generator is powerful, reliable, and easy to operate. I have experienced no problems with my generator, and have been able to keep my family comfortable during power outages and other events where this device is required.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
pipefitter
from detroit
State:MI - Michigan
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only generator ill ever buy, great product design and quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Beh7200
from West Chester
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We use this to power our entire home with a crossover switch when the power goes out. It runs our entire house with no problem. We have all electricity in 2500 sq ft home and can use stove, etc. highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent, powerful and reliable

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Dennis
State:MI - Michigan
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this unit to upgrade from a 5500 watt Generac. I find it is well built, easy starting and powers my whole house with no problem. Only two things I can fault. The semi pneumatic wheels get flat spots from the weight of the unit. This was remedied by replacing them with full pneumatic wheels found at a popular importer. The second thing was battery failure and finding a replacement. No problem, I just start it with a jump start battery pack. Have used the unit several times during power failures and had no problems. Good fuel economy also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent features, unbelievable reliability

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Outlaw Gunner
from Chester Springs
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned my Generac XP8000E for 3 years and have had to use it over extended periods of power outages in our part of rural Pennsylvania. However, in between those uses it sits for months at a time. When I pull it out, it starts right up, even if I forgot to drain last years gas. Great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy set up and running

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fuzzy12
from Dayville
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of the box to a dry run was 1 hr. All has work great. Still have to wait for a full work out till my transfer switch is installed.
My unit backs up Jobsite, Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Features, Appears to be Solid Built.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Harlan Hamilton
from Clarkston
State:MI - Michigan
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased one in November 2013
returned to retailer for exchange due to a few concerns. So far the new unit appears to be trouble free. Assembly is pretty simple and it appears that Generac put a lot of thought into the packaging so that there would be no damage in shipping and assembly would be simple. Started up immediately after assembly. Capable of running my well pump, furnace lights etc. It comes with a nice heavy 4 outlet cord, however I would prefer a cord that would adapt the generator 30 amp outlet to the house 30 amp generator receptacle box as this is a prime feature is to be able to run the house. But overall appears to be a solid well built generator
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Design

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Delta1
from Naples
State:NY - New York
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose the Generac XP8000 because it is the best designed generator in it's class.
It's engine is specifically designed to power a generator and is pressure-lubricated.
I have owned generators made by motorcycle and power products manufacturers, but their engines are one-size-fits-all, when it comes to applications. The same engine is used on a generator, trash pump and a couple other pieces of equipment. And theirs is splash-lubricated. The only issue I had was when hooking up to a home power panel. The 240V outlet is protected by a GFCI, which is great on 120V circuits, but on 240V the GFCI sensed an unbalanced load and 'thought' it was a ground fault. We had to by-pass the GFCI. Great product!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Unit, worth the money.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Shhark
from Burlington
State:ON - Ontario
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality was evident from opening the box to set up. Machine started right up and works fantastic.
Love the power and the fact I can use it at home and the cottage.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Generator was easy to set up and start

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Curt
from Greenville
State:MO - Missouri
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Generator was easy to set up and start. Noise level was low compared to some I have heard. It is easy to move around and seems to be well built. It is for back up power for a few things in my home. I hope I don't have to use it very much, but when I do, I sure it will do the job. One feature that is nice is how you can plug in and charge the battery without removing it from the Generator.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Unit

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Jerry T
from Upper Sandusky
State:OH - Ohio
Age:Over 65
This purchase was for:Camping
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just purchased the unit but I assembled it and put oil in it and hooked up the battery and it started right up? It looks like a well made unit and I'm hoping I never have to use it? I'm using it for power outages!! Good price for this size unit.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home back up

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Adamsr7
from Defiance
State:OH - Ohio
Age:25-34
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is easy to assemble and easy to use. It has plenty of power to get you through a power outage. I am very pleased with my purchase.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Lborz64
from Ringoes
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our unit is brand new...assembly was very easy. Seems heavy duty. Our only complaint is that the oil fill is in an awkward spot and the paper funnel provided was a joke. We used a tiny funnel we had on hand which made the process slow. If that's the worst thing we can come up with you get the drift...quality generac as usual, this is our second one. We upgraded after SS Sandy to a larger one from our old Generac Mega force 6500 we have had since 99.It is still working great-just and upgrade for more power...
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jkleintop22
Lehigh Valley PA
Great!
Posted January 7, 2014
Haven't needed to use this yet, but it came highly recommended! We are often out of power and now we feel confident that we are covered in case of an outage, Generac is the Best out there!!! Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snap to set

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Pemwood 1
from Blauvelt
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received my XP 8000 E today and took about 15 minutes to set up by myself. Filled it with oil and fuel push the electric start and it was on it's way. I let it run for 15 minutes and shut it down. I hope I never have to use it, but I'm confident I made the right choice. I will update if it becomes necessary to use in the future.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
vmsguru
from Raleigh
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent generator that easily carries all my needs for power outages (I run the whole house minus heat/ac although it would probably handle it. I have had this for 3 years now, but I have not had an extended outage - but I do run it qtrly for all the obvious reasons. Again A great product, and great value for the $$ - Pretty sure this is American made with the exceptional quality... Love the electric start but unhappy the battery post positions force me to a limited supply.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built device with lots of power

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Bobcat
from Brighton
State:MI - Michigan
Age:Over 65
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a model 5708, XP8000E portable generator and am very pleased with the device. It puts out 8000 watts and will put out 12000 surge watts which I am pleased with. In addition, the motor has a lube system similar to a cars engine, which should give it a long life. The unit was easy to put and operate. I did have a gas leak at the shutoff valve but tightened the valve to the tank and the leak was quickly fixed. I like the portability and the fold down handles. Engine starts easily and then noise is reasonable. The Total Harmonic Distortion is less than 5% which is important to me because I have many solid state devices in my home. This unit is made in Wisconsin and I believe the quality to be better then the ones made in China. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good piece of equipment

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
kubotoaman
from middleburg
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
the only complaint i have is the tires getting flat spots and the battery not charging with the engine running
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Tom
from Spring Hill
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on gasoline, quiet running, nice design and dependable
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top-Quality and Good value for the money

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
MorrisNJ
from Flanders
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 8000E was easy to set-uo just install teh wheels and the bracket - install the oil (which is also included), gas and push the start - EASY!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for XP8000E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Dean2013
from Westport
State:CT - Connecticut
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to install, use and maintain. Great reviews, reputation and word-of-mouth (I checked). Plus excellent people on the 800#. Glad I have it. Should have got it sooner.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>