Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.8 out of 5
4.836 out of 5
4.786 out of 5
4.879 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.879 out of 5
4.848 out of 5
4.836 out of 5
4.8 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Overall rating:
4.783 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(152 reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 152 reviews
5 Stars
120
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
149 out of 15099%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
122 Questions | 140 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP6500E
Review 1 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what is advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Happy in New Jersey
from Jobstown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided that going without electricity and having the basement flood after the last hurricane was more stress than I wanted in my life. I did a lot searching on the internet for a generator that would give me the best peace of mind. I settled on the Generac 5940 GP6500- 6500 Watt Portable Generator (5940).
I paid for the tail gate service and it was delivered very promptly and wheeled up to my house. Assembly was extremely easy. I put oil and gas in it as directed, and with one pull it was running. A few weeks later I had the "Transfer Switch" installed and we killed all power to the house, started the generator, and flipped the transfer switch to the operating position. Everything we had connected (which was just about everything except central air conditioning) was powered on. We even ran water until our well pump turned on and the generator never even hesitated or appeared to be under strain.
So if we ever lose electricity again, especially for a long duration of time, the neighbors will see that we have heat, water, and lights. They will all be welcome!
Thanks Generac for supplying a product that truly is what is advertised. In today's world it is nice to see some honesty in advertising.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This unit has everything I need to keep the essentials of my home running during an outage!!!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave40c
from Cleveland
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a great unit right out of the box. Easy to assemble, simple easy to read starting and usage instructions, portable and enough power to maintain my home in a safe and functional state during a power outage. Easy electric start for my wife if I am away on business. Great generator, bought 2 more for my children's homes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Up & Running in Minutes

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
guru75
from Garner
State:IA - Iowa
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this generator after researching online. Brand name carries a lot of weight in the generator field so I decided on a Generac and was not disappointed. Had the generator out of the box, set up, break in oil added and running in less than 30 minutes. One week after I brought it home we had the seasons first snowfall and the electricity went out. Hadn't had time to get the electrician to do the hookup to my service panel yet so I ran a drop cord in from outside and plugged in the TV. Watched television until the lights came back on in about an hour. Worked flawlessly and can't wait to see how it works running through the service panel. I would definitely recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you will need

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Scott
from McHenry
State:MD - Maryland
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this in the fall of 2012 after Katrina ripped through the Northeast. Our area was ten days without power being restored. We suffered through three days without power before getting this. Our home water supply comes from a well. No power, no water. Or heat, or showers, or communications. This unit has enough power to run the well, satellite, refrigerators, freezers, lights, coffee pot, microwave, televisions, and the list goes on. I just pulled it outside and started it up again for the second time this year. It powered up on the second pull and was running strong. I never worry about losing power now. Get the biggest one you can afford, but the 6500 will get you through any power outage with minimal disruption to your life. No regrets on this purchase. Quality machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for the features

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
BB
from Mason
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We chose the 6500E over other models due to it's many positive reviews from multiple sites and its features for the price. I especially like the number of available 20 amp outlets plus the 20 foot power cord. I specifically wanted the electric start and the automatic voltage regulation, and the rubber outlet covers are a great addition!
Cons: The set-up instruction card had several minor errors and omissions. For example - the set up instructions did not mention that the fuel line was disconnected at the shut-off valve and needed to be connected by the owner. Good thing I saw it during my initial inspection.
Suggestions: An onboard voltage meter (and maybe a manual voltage adjustment) would be a great addition, so the output voltage can be monitored without needing a separate meter. And it would be nice to have an onboard power meter showing amperage draw. But, for the price this model is perfectly adequate for our needs.
Unfortunately, the week we received our generator, the price dropped $50. Wish I had waited one more week.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric start

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Bugs
from Fort Wayne
State:IN - Indiana
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Went from an All Power recoil start to my new Generac electric start. My back likes me again. Haven't had to use it as a backup yet but have no reason to believe it won't work as advertised.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good So Far

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
DABegley
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Generac GP6500E because of an extended power outage last Christmas. We recently had a Fall snow storm and were out of power for 4 days. The generator performed very well during the outage. Started on 1st or second pull every time. Provided all the power I needed to run the well, furnace, lights, TV, satellite dish, Fridge and freezer. It would run longer than the 10 hours the specs say at half load. Only issue is that it is a little bulky to move around if you are not on pavement. It is a good sized machine so it sinks in a bit on grass, especially if it is wet. The wheels are good sized and the frame is sturdy but it is heavy enough to make it a little difficult on grass, sand. The wheels also pack up with snow and stop rolling so you need to keep the path clear to the ground or clear the wheels frequently. Other than that it has been a good machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needed an electric start generator

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Billbo
from Highgate
State:VT - Vermont
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happily found a Generac generator located in Vermont. It was shipped to us and delivered within the week. Has all the features we need - but most importantly, the electric start.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with the generator. Easy to use and exactly what I needed

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
tommy
from Coventry
State:RI - Rhode Island
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Generator is very easy to maintain and use . Exactly what I needed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall excellent product

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Denny
from Lakewood
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently installed a power inlet box to my breaker panel and purchased this generator to to power the house in case of a power outage. I have tested it a couple times now and it works great. Electric start would be nice but its really not needed. This generator is easy to pull start and starts on the 1st pull every time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommended by Electrician

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
GM237
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This generator was recommended for my house as a relatively inexpensive generator for needs in house, including well water pump and sump pump. It was recommended by my electrician.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for a high quality product

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mick70
from Milford
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit has everything I need for home backup. It's a heavy machine but the pivot handle makes it easy to move around. I also like the never flat wheels. The only drawback is the lack of clear instructions for changing oil and draining fuel. The instructions are vague for a novice like me. I need more detail and better drawings. Well worth the price I paid for home backup.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its like a good insurance policy!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Casper
from Farmington Hills
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with this product ,starts very easy and quiet. I have done a lot of research, and borrowed generators, I'm so glad I went with a Generac.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Over all has worked well

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BJB
from Levittown
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with the Generac 6500E. Issue with cord not retracting . I am bringing it to be repaired under warranty. will up date when I get it back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Woodstock1952
from Navarre
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After losing all of our food twice, I knew that wasn't going to happen again. Great generator. Starts easy and a reliable machine from a well known manufacturer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great generator

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
rramo1
from paramount
State:CA - California
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased for work site worked great let it sit for a while and still turns on great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked perfectly

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
ARL
from Cedar Falls
State:IA - Iowa
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was contacted by a neighbor that our area had lost power, and bought a GP6500 on my way home. I followed the operator manual, it started right away and I was able to save the food in our freezer and fridge. In my mind it has paid for itself. This is just the right size to cover critical needs during summer and winter storms.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did a lot of homework and in the end made the right choice

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer avatar
tomsteller
from pennington
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked at a lot of generators did a lot of homework and in the end I think I made the right choice. This product has all the features I was looking for and at the right price. Have always had good luck with Generac products so I will keep buying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It exceeds my expectations

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Gus
from Scott Depot
State:WV - West Virginia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have given this generator a 5 star rating based on my experience with it so far, and so far I haven't needed to use it for the reason it was purchased; to supply emergency power during electrical outages.
That having been said, I am impressed with what I have seen so far. The unit arrived in perfect condition, and assembly was easy. I was concerned by the advertised weight at first, but the carton was easily handled by two people, and after assembly, it is easy to move from storage to the driveway where it will be used.
The battery was charged when it arrived, and it started right up and ran steadily for about 15 minutes.
I had minor difficulty adding the engine oil, in that I had to hunt around for a long necked funnel to use to pour the oil into the unit, no big deal.
And, the instructions indicate that you should check the oil level as oil is being added, so as not to overfill the unit. I did this, only to read later that the recommended oil capacity is 1 quart, and exactly one quart of oil was supplied. It would have saved me a few minutes if the instructions said "Pour the 1 quart of enclosed oil into the oil fill plug". Also, no big deal.
Finally, it would be nice to have a compartment or something on the unit to hold the battery charger. I solved that problem with a bag attached to the frame with zip ties.
If this is all I can find to complain about, I would say that I'm pretty satisfied.
I trust that this unit will perform as well when the need arises as it has so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for the price

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
kingquad
from Hamilton
State:ON - Ontario
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I put a couple of hours on it this weekend and seems good. A little noisy but for a home back up generator it will be good for the once or twice a year we use it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>