Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.706 out of 5
4.766 out of 5
4.675 out of 5
4.883 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
4.883 out of 5
4.766 out of 5
4.757 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.706 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 167 reviews
5 Stars
129
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
159 out of 16596%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
129 Questions | 149 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP6500E
Review 1 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what is advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Happy in New Jersey
from Jobstown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided that going without electricity and having the basement flood after the last hurricane was more stress than I wanted in my life. I did a lot searching on the internet for a generator that would give me the best peace of mind. I settled on the Generac 5940 GP6500- 6500 Watt Portable Generator (5940).
I paid for the tail gate service and it was delivered very promptly and wheeled up to my house. Assembly was extremely easy. I put oil and gas in it as directed, and with one pull it was running. A few weeks later I had the "Transfer Switch" installed and we killed all power to the house, started the generator, and flipped the transfer switch to the operating position. Everything we had connected (which was just about everything except central air conditioning) was powered on. We even ran water until our well pump turned on and the generator never even hesitated or appeared to be under strain.
So if we ever lose electricity again, especially for a long duration of time, the neighbors will see that we have heat, water, and lights. They will all be welcome!
Thanks Generac for supplying a product that truly is what is advertised. In today's world it is nice to see some honesty in advertising.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product for price

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Schnerd
from Grand Rapids
State:MI - Michigan
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value, easy setup and use..low maintenance..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome generator

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer avatar
cookie
from laporte
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would tell everybody that you build a awesome generator,starts 2nd pull, low noise, it is bad to the bone and if you don't buy generac I feel sorry for you because I love mine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Quite

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
DDowney
from Philippi
State:WV - West Virginia
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had to replace my old generator (That was not a generac) that had for the last 15 years. Bought this from a local vendor. The unit started right up. I already have a generac home standby but It really uses the propane to run all night. I use this to just run fridge and furnace at night. The home standby was the best purchase ever. Soon as the power goes out the standby will start right up. I have the 6500 run just a few circuits when don't want the standby running. The 6500 has electric start which is nice. I was without power when 1st bought and it ran for 16 hours straight. No problems. I would recommend the generac name to anyone. After bought my home standby my inlaws bought one and love it. Highly recommend the portable 6500E.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple set up and easy operation.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Wayne
from Middleville
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this unit as a home back up power source to insure our furnace and well pump were operational during winter storms. I found this unit to be an easy set up for that purpose, and a whole lot more. Although the weather has been cooperative this winter so far, I've found the portability of this unit to be valuable in powering all sorts of tools and lights in my newly built pole building. I recommend this unit to anyone needing a standby power source. It's great!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This produc has great features

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Jkh2260
from West helena
State:AR - Arkansas
Age:55-64
Looks great assembles easy works great starts easy all electricle recepticles are easy to understand and use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and starts right up.

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Delta
from Pawtucket
State:RI - Rhode Island
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got the generator the eve of the 2015 blizzard. Setup was a snap and starting was even easier. This was a replacement for a older generator I had and between the two units genarac wins hands down, would recommend it to anyone even if your not handy with mechanical things. my grandma could put this together.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 3, 2015
On behalf of Generac, thank you for your thorough review of the GP6500E portable generator. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, and receive warranty information and consumer alerts, by registering your unit via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
easyuse
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, started right up, easy to use and move around
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Jon22551
from Spotsylvania
State:VA - Virginia
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this product as emergency back-up generator for home to provide power to refrigerator/freezer and well during outages. Excellent value and dependability. Will upgrade to home standby generator next year to power whole home and move this to garage for powering tools.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 3, 2015
Thank you for your thorough review. Don't forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Backup Genset

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Astrobiker
from Rome
State:GA - Georgia
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm really pleased with my Generac 6500e generator. I replaced a 14 year old unit with this one and I feel like I now have a reliable back up when the storms come and the power goes out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This unit has everything I need to keep the essentials of my home running during an outage!!!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave40c
from Cleveland
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a great unit right out of the box. Easy to assemble, simple easy to read starting and usage instructions, portable and enough power to maintain my home in a safe and functional state during a power outage. Easy electric start for my wife if I am away on business. Great generator, bought 2 more for my children's homes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Up & Running in Minutes

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
guru75
from Garner
State:IA - Iowa
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this generator after researching online. Brand name carries a lot of weight in the generator field so I decided on a Generac and was not disappointed. Had the generator out of the box, set up, break in oil added and running in less than 30 minutes. One week after I brought it home we had the seasons first snowfall and the electricity went out. Hadn't had time to get the electrician to do the hookup to my service panel yet so I ran a drop cord in from outside and plugged in the TV. Watched television until the lights came back on in about an hour. Worked flawlessly and can't wait to see how it works running through the service panel. I would definitely recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you will need

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Scott
from McHenry
State:MD - Maryland
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this in the fall of 2012 after Katrina ripped through the Northeast. Our area was ten days without power being restored. We suffered through three days without power before getting this. Our home water supply comes from a well. No power, no water. Or heat, or showers, or communications. This unit has enough power to run the well, satellite, refrigerators, freezers, lights, coffee pot, microwave, televisions, and the list goes on. I just pulled it outside and started it up again for the second time this year. It powered up on the second pull and was running strong. I never worry about losing power now. Get the biggest one you can afford, but the 6500 will get you through any power outage with minimal disruption to your life. No regrets on this purchase. Quality machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cfjeff
Kansas
Good Way to Start
Posted February 6, 2015
Started right up. Bought in the event of losing power for an extended period of time.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for the features

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
BB
from Mason
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We chose the 6500E over other models due to it's many positive reviews from multiple sites and its features for the price. I especially like the number of available 20 amp outlets plus the 20 foot power cord. I specifically wanted the electric start and the automatic voltage regulation, and the rubber outlet covers are a great addition!
Cons: The set-up instruction card had several minor errors and omissions. For example - the set up instructions did not mention that the fuel line was disconnected at the shut-off valve and needed to be connected by the owner. Good thing I saw it during my initial inspection.
Suggestions: An onboard voltage meter (and maybe a manual voltage adjustment) would be a great addition, so the output voltage can be monitored without needing a separate meter. And it would be nice to have an onboard power meter showing amperage draw. But, for the price this model is perfectly adequate for our needs.
Unfortunately, the week we received our generator, the price dropped $50. Wish I had waited one more week.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric start

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Bugs
from Fort Wayne
State:IN - Indiana
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Went from an All Power recoil start to my new Generac electric start. My back likes me again. Haven't had to use it as a backup yet but have no reason to believe it won't work as advertised.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good So Far

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
DABegley
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Generac GP6500E because of an extended power outage last Christmas. We recently had a Fall snow storm and were out of power for 4 days. The generator performed very well during the outage. Started on 1st or second pull every time. Provided all the power I needed to run the well, furnace, lights, TV, satellite dish, Fridge and freezer. It would run longer than the 10 hours the specs say at half load. Only issue is that it is a little bulky to move around if you are not on pavement. It is a good sized machine so it sinks in a bit on grass, especially if it is wet. The wheels are good sized and the frame is sturdy but it is heavy enough to make it a little difficult on grass, sand. The wheels also pack up with snow and stop rolling so you need to keep the path clear to the ground or clear the wheels frequently. Other than that it has been a good machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needed an electric start generator

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Billbo
from Highgate
State:VT - Vermont
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happily found a Generac generator located in Vermont. It was shipped to us and delivered within the week. Has all the features we need - but most importantly, the electric start.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with the generator. Easy to use and exactly what I needed

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
tommy
from Coventry
State:RI - Rhode Island
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Generator is very easy to maintain and use . Exactly what I needed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall excellent product

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Denny
from Lakewood
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently installed a power inlet box to my breaker panel and purchased this generator to to power the house in case of a power outage. I have tested it a couple times now and it works great. Electric start would be nice but its really not needed. This generator is easy to pull start and starts on the 1st pull every time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommended by Electrician

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
GM237
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This generator was recommended for my house as a relatively inexpensive generator for needs in house, including well water pump and sump pump. It was recommended by my electrician.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>