Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.799 out of 5
4.828 out of 5
4.772 out of 5
4.785 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.868 out of 5
4.828 out of 5
4.821 out of 5
4.799 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
113
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
142 out of 14399%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
121 Questions | 139 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP6500E
Review 1 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what is advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Happy in New Jersey
from Jobstown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided that going without electricity and having the basement flood after the last hurricane was more stress than I wanted in my life. I did a lot searching on the internet for a generator that would give me the best peace of mind. I settled on the Generac 5940 GP6500- 6500 Watt Portable Generator (5940).
I paid for the tail gate service and it was delivered very promptly and wheeled up to my house. Assembly was extremely easy. I put oil and gas in it as directed, and with one pull it was running. A few weeks later I had the "Transfer Switch" installed and we killed all power to the house, started the generator, and flipped the transfer switch to the operating position. Everything we had connected (which was just about everything except central air conditioning) was powered on. We even ran water until our well pump turned on and the generator never even hesitated or appeared to be under strain.
So if we ever lose electricity again, especially for a long duration of time, the neighbors will see that we have heat, water, and lights. They will all be welcome!
Thanks Generac for supplying a product that truly is what is advertised. In today's world it is nice to see some honesty in advertising.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with the generator. Easy to use and exactly what I needed

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
tommy
from Coventry
State:RI - Rhode Island
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Generator is very easy to maintain and use . Exactly what I needed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall excellent product

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Denny
from Lakewood
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently installed a power inlet box to my breaker panel and purchased this generator to to power the house in case of a power outage. I have tested it a couple times now and it works great. Electric start would be nice but its really not needed. This generator is easy to pull start and starts on the 1st pull every time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommended by Electrician

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
GM237
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This generator was recommended for my house as a relatively inexpensive generator for needs in house, including well water pump and sump pump. It was recommended by my electrician.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for a high quality product

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mick70
from Milford
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit has everything I need for home backup. It's a heavy machine but the pivot handle makes it easy to move around. I also like the never flat wheels. The only drawback is the lack of clear instructions for changing oil and draining fuel. The instructions are vague for a novice like me. I need more detail and better drawings. Well worth the price I paid for home backup.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its like a good insurance policy!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Casper
from Farmington Hills
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with this product ,starts very easy and quiet. I have done a lot of research, and borrowed generators, I'm so glad I went with a Generac.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Over all has worked well

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BJB
from Levittown
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with the Generac 6500E. Issue with cord not retracting . I am bringing it to be repaired under warranty. will up date when I get it back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Woodstock1952
from Navarre
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After losing all of our food twice, I knew that wasn't going to happen again. Great generator. Starts easy and a reliable machine from a well known manufacturer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great generator

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
rramo1
from paramount
State:CA - California
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased for work site worked great let it sit for a while and still turns on great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked perfectly

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
ARL
from Cedar Falls
State:IA - Iowa
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was contacted by a neighbor that our area had lost power, and bought a GP6500 on my way home. I followed the operator manual, it started right away and I was able to save the food in our freezer and fridge. In my mind it has paid for itself. This is just the right size to cover critical needs during summer and winter storms.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did a lot of homework and in the end made the right choice

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer avatar
tomsteller
from pennington
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked at a lot of generators did a lot of homework and in the end I think I made the right choice. This product has all the features I was looking for and at the right price. Have always had good luck with Generac products so I will keep buying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It exceeds my expectations

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Gus
from Scott Depot
State:WV - West Virginia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have given this generator a 5 star rating based on my experience with it so far, and so far I haven't needed to use it for the reason it was purchased; to supply emergency power during electrical outages.
That having been said, I am impressed with what I have seen so far. The unit arrived in perfect condition, and assembly was easy. I was concerned by the advertised weight at first, but the carton was easily handled by two people, and after assembly, it is easy to move from storage to the driveway where it will be used.
The battery was charged when it arrived, and it started right up and ran steadily for about 15 minutes.
I had minor difficulty adding the engine oil, in that I had to hunt around for a long necked funnel to use to pour the oil into the unit, no big deal.
And, the instructions indicate that you should check the oil level as oil is being added, so as not to overfill the unit. I did this, only to read later that the recommended oil capacity is 1 quart, and exactly one quart of oil was supplied. It would have saved me a few minutes if the instructions said "Pour the 1 quart of enclosed oil into the oil fill plug". Also, no big deal.
Finally, it would be nice to have a compartment or something on the unit to hold the battery charger. I solved that problem with a bag attached to the frame with zip ties.
If this is all I can find to complain about, I would say that I'm pretty satisfied.
I trust that this unit will perform as well when the need arises as it has so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for the price

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
kingquad
from Hamilton
State:ON - Ontario
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I put a couple of hours on it this weekend and seems good. A little noisy but for a home back up generator it will be good for the once or twice a year we use it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer avatar
carolw64
from Merrillivlle
State:IN - Indiana
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We brought it because we got tried of loosing power all the time. I have used it yet but I know it will work just fine. I fill but just having it. I will recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great right out of the box

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Chuck57
from Hammond
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was amazed on easy everything was and how well it was all explained. Setup took less than 10 minutes and you just have to fill with the oil supplied and fill with gas. Getting the gas took the longest time of the whole setup process. Started on the first pull and ran like a champ. It runs quiet and and with very little vibration. I purchased this unit because I am sick out power outages and this is the best investment made for that problem. It will run everything that is needed when your power goes out, to get you by without damage to your home or your pocketbook. Best Investment I ever made, don't know what took me so long to get one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powered everything I wanted and more.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
goose74
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you need at a good price and easy to get set up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

life saver

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Brian
from Titusville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
We get a lot of outages and it usually 6 to 8 hours to get it back. This generator furs up on the first pull and powers everything but the AC. Can't imagine life without it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator for a great prive

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave
from West Chester
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy start, very powerful, easy to roll around, runs for ever on a tank of gas
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product runs great

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer avatar
sean
from st.stephen
State:NB - New Brunswick
Age:35-44
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
product runs great does everything i want it to do 2 other friends bought same generator and both have had engine problems around 40-100 hrs fingers crossed mine holds up!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Great

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Hammersox
from Grant Park
State:IL - Illinois
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had a bad storm NO power for three days. Opened box easy to assemble , added gas oil ran for three days adding only gas ,worked great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>