Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Get all of the benefits of the GP6500, but with the convenience of electric start. Excellent for emergency power or DIY projects.
Overall rating:
4.712 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 177 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
169 out of 17597%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
130 Questions | 151 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP6500E
Review 1 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what is advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Happy in New Jersey
from Jobstown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided that going without electricity and having the basement flood after the last hurricane was more stress than I wanted in my life. I did a lot searching on the internet for a generator that would give me the best peace of mind. I settled on the Generac 5940 GP6500- 6500 Watt Portable Generator (5940).
I paid for the tail gate service and it was delivered very promptly and wheeled up to my house. Assembly was extremely easy. I put oil and gas in it as directed, and with one pull it was running. A few weeks later I had the "Transfer Switch" installed and we killed all power to the house, started the generator, and flipped the transfer switch to the operating position. Everything we had connected (which was just about everything except central air conditioning) was powered on. We even ran water until our well pump turned on and the generator never even hesitated or appeared to be under strain.
So if we ever lose electricity again, especially for a long duration of time, the neighbors will see that we have heat, water, and lights. They will all be welcome!
Thanks Generac for supplying a product that truly is what is advertised. In today's world it is nice to see some honesty in advertising.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powers everything

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Danno
from Shamong
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for the price. Have used it 4 times since purchased in 2012. I use it to energize the entire power panel so we can use water (well), fridge, stove, lights and AC. It's a bit noisy, so this is the one improvement I would suggest.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Doubts, money well invested

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer avatar
JMV
from San Benito
State:TX - Texas
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very satisfied with my purchase of my GP6500E generator. It was money well invested. The quality and performance of this Generac generator is great. The installation and startup directions were very easy to follow for someone like me that is not to keen on the mechanics of putting something together. The motor is not too noisy at all, we can barely hear that our generator is on at all when working. I will definitely recommend this product to all my family. I am getting ready to purchase a Generac Home Standby Generator in the next few months.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
Response from GeneracBy 8700July 6, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review! We are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our product. If you have not done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty. For your convenience, your product's registration can be completed online: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Life saver during power outage

PostedJune 15, 2015
Customer avatar
jacjoa
from Lomax
State:IL - Illinois
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We was dealing with a major power outage, after looking at several other brands, I went with this brand and size, because everything I have heard, I trusted it. This unit was perfect, it provided power for my side by side fridge, and two upright freezers with plenty to spare. While others were sitting in the dark, we was sitting in a well lit living room eating supper. Love my new Generac generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product has great power for the price advertised

PostedJune 13, 2015
Customer avatar
throwbax
from Lynden
State:ON - Ontario
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It ran my sump pump, refrigerator and lights with no problem.
First pull start up on the first try.
Excellent buy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best generator for the money.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Beefy22
from Powell's Point
State:NC - North Carolina
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you would expect. A great generator for the times when the lights go out!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Louis
Huntington, WV.
Contradictory review.
Posted July 20, 2015
You give the generator 5 out of 5 stars and state that it is the best generator for the money. At the end of the review is marked, "No, I would not recomend this product." That just doesn't make any sense.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Purchase

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Groundhog
from Canton
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starts on the first pull of the cord every time. Do I need to say anymore ?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase I ever made !!!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Tony
from Cannelton
State:IN - Indiana
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Straight off the skid, gas and oil added and my Generac fired on the first pull.
Even my gf has no problem firing it up.
We're doing major alterations on a cabin and use the generator at least 4 days per week.
Surprising how long it runs on a tank of fuel. I ckeck it several times daily and swear somebody is sneaking gas into the tank.
It's a bit noisy, but outside where that doesn't matter.
Before retirement, I'd been in construction but never had the opportunity to use a generac. Those boys don't know what they're missing.
I'm completely satisfied, and have already boasted about my great choice.
When the work is complete, my Generac will be set up for back-up power.
I feel secure knowing it can be counted on in a pinch !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700May 22, 2015
We are glad that our product is serving you well. Please note that we recommend ensuring that the unit is adequately filled with fuel to ensure that the product is able to optimally perform when needed. Moreover, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if you ever have any questions about your portable unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great product. Easy to use.

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
EC47
from Venice
State:FL - Florida
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease us useage. Hook-up is simple. Great value for the price. I would recommend this to anyone looking to be a portable generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This model has the power and features to last

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Glen
from Marion, Iowa
State:IA - Iowa
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 6500E has sufficient power to provide for the essentials of this household. It has the ease of starting to fill in within the time constraints of an emergency. It should meet our needs for years to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac is #1

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Reltng
from Mahopac
State:NY - New York
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gererac was my first choice, spent a lot of dark days before I purchased the GP6500E. Plenty of features, easy setup. I chose this model especially for the Electric Start feature, and the efficient fuel consumption rate. I also matched this generator with the Generac Transfer Switch kit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700April 21, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review, and for choosing Generac as well! To ensure that your unit is appropriately registered, and to receive future consumer alerts and warranty-related information, don't forget to provide the necessary registration information via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid & Effective

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Goldenbuckeye
from Sterling Heights
State:MI - Michigan
Age:45-54
A portable, reliable, economical, means of standby power. It is a bit louder than I like but wear earplugs if you are bothered by the noise level. This machine is used for jobsite applications such as a vacuum,portable halogen lighting and misc. charging. Follow the wattage charts for appliance applications to ensure you have the right size generator to handle the load required. Do not overload any machine even a Generac.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
Response from GeneracBy 8700April 2, 2015
Thank you for your thoughtful review. To be sure that your unit is properly registered, please join Generac Nation by providing the required information via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product for price

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Schnerd
from Grand Rapids
State:MI - Michigan
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value, easy setup and use..low maintenance..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome generator

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer avatar
cookie
from laporte
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would tell everybody that you build a awesome generator,starts 2nd pull, low noise, it is bad to the bone and if you don't buy generac I feel sorry for you because I love mine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Quite

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
DDowney
from Philippi
State:WV - West Virginia
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had to replace my old generator (That was not a generac) that had for the last 15 years. Bought this from a local vendor. The unit started right up. I already have a generac home standby but It really uses the propane to run all night. I use this to just run fridge and furnace at night. The home standby was the best purchase ever. Soon as the power goes out the standby will start right up. I have the 6500 run just a few circuits when don't want the standby running. The 6500 has electric start which is nice. I was without power when 1st bought and it ran for 16 hours straight. No problems. I would recommend the generac name to anyone. After bought my home standby my inlaws bought one and love it. Highly recommend the portable 6500E.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple set up and easy operation.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Wayne
from Middleville
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this unit as a home back up power source to insure our furnace and well pump were operational during winter storms. I found this unit to be an easy set up for that purpose, and a whole lot more. Although the weather has been cooperative this winter so far, I've found the portability of this unit to be valuable in powering all sorts of tools and lights in my newly built pole building. I recommend this unit to anyone needing a standby power source. It's great!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This produc has great features

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Jkh2260
from West helena
State:AR - Arkansas
Age:55-64
Looks great assembles easy works great starts easy all electricle recepticles are easy to understand and use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and starts right up.

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Delta
from Pawtucket
State:RI - Rhode Island
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got the generator the eve of the 2015 blizzard. Setup was a snap and starting was even easier. This was a replacement for a older generator I had and between the two units genarac wins hands down, would recommend it to anyone even if your not handy with mechanical things. my grandma could put this together.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 3, 2015
On behalf of Generac, thank you for your thorough review of the GP6500E portable generator. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, and receive warranty information and consumer alerts, by registering your unit via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
easyuse
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, started right up, easy to use and move around
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Jon22551
from Spotsylvania
State:VA - Virginia
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this product as emergency back-up generator for home to provide power to refrigerator/freezer and well during outages. Excellent value and dependability. Will upgrade to home standby generator next year to power whole home and move this to garage for powering tools.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 3, 2015
Thank you for your thorough review. Don't forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>