Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.802 out of 5
4.818 out of 5
4.764 out of 5
4.846 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.846 out of 5
4.818 out of 5
4.808 out of 5
4.802 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Generac Power Systems GP6500E

Overall rating:
4.764 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 123 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
121 out of 12299%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
111 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP6500E
Review 1 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what is advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Happy in New Jersey
from Jobstown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided that going without electricity and having the basement flood after the last hurricane was more stress than I wanted in my life. I did a lot searching on the internet for a generator that would give me the best peace of mind. I settled on the Generac 5940 GP6500- 6500 Watt Portable Generator (5940).
I paid for the tail gate service and it was delivered very promptly and wheeled up to my house. Assembly was extremely easy. I put oil and gas in it as directed, and with one pull it was running. A few weeks later I had the "Transfer Switch" installed and we killed all power to the house, started the generator, and flipped the transfer switch to the operating position. Everything we had connected (which was just about everything except central air conditioning) was powered on. We even ran water until our well pump turned on and the generator never even hesitated or appeared to be under strain.
So if we ever lose electricity again, especially for a long duration of time, the neighbors will see that we have heat, water, and lights. They will all be welcome!
Thanks Generac for supplying a product that truly is what is advertised. In today's world it is nice to see some honesty in advertising.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First time Generator Purchase

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
npcuzzupe
from Tewksbury
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:25-34
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the Generac 6500E as a back up for my home. I live in New England and Power outages during the winter can be frequent. Spent 3 weeks without power the year before last and Swore that wouldn't happen again. Fortunately Did not loose power this year, but I am prepare now for the future.
Product is reasonably priced, starts right up with the push of a button and runs without a hiccup. Only thing is I wish that it gave the option for alternative fuels, such as propane. Would be a nice back up incase gas stations are closed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Made in the USA , and it's availability, made this a great choice.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
LightsRon
from Ionia
State:MI - Michigan
Age:45-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With the ever increasing unpredictability of the weather, I found it necessary to have a generator on hand to ensure comfort and the ability to cook and keep perishable products from spoil. To relax in the relative comfort and glow of my home while I look down the street and see darkness reinforces my belief that purchasing this generac generator was a great idea.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth every dollar invested!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Bluelizardman
from Glenside
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After losing power for 9 days during Sandy, and just missing the bullet during the winter of 2014, we decided to quickly purchase this generator to avoid future problems. Based on earlier research I looked for a Generac and found one by luck at a local dealer. The generator is VERY easy to start and use, and powers almost our entire home - no need or a full house unit! Excellent price - including transfer box installed about $2000 total - well worth it for peace of mind!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good output

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
klk
from Ann Arbor
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is a big improvement from my old one. Much better gas capacity and seems quieter. A little heavy, but it is on wheels. Great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has very good features

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Golfs2
from Columbiaville
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought a GP6500 generator after a ice storm in Michigan and two days before Christmas. Family was kept warm for the 8 days without power. Satisfied Completely!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality Generator

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
jrgrey
from Liberty
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took delivery in the early part of December 2013. If I did not own a tractor with a loader, there would have been problems as the trucking company shows up in a tractor-trailer full size rig.
I had no trouble assembling the unit. However the oil that was shipped with the generator had contaminants at the bottom of the bottle. The debris never made it into the crank case as I was pouring and checking the level and caught it.
I had occasion to use the unit this past week as our electric was out for 5 hours and the outside temperature was 11 above. We ran the whole house on the unit but did not use the electric stove. When the 220v well pump would kick on the lights would flicker slightly; the generator never appeared to be working hard.
I am well satisfied with the performance and quality of this unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
wheels
from chalfont
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the 6500E after the last ice storm and power outage for 5 days. Although I didn't have to use it for the latest winter storm (thankfully), the ease of set up and start up was great. I just ran it for a little to make sure it was gonna be ready if needed and it was everything I thought it would be. Not too loud and would easily handle my emergency backup needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality for those times of need.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
ROB
from Newtown
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased day of 2014 Ice Storm, Living in the NE After losing power during Super Storm Sandy fear set in, lost power for four days the generator was a life saver. Plenty of power to run what we needed, including heat! Electric strart was great feature. A must have for anyhome owner who has lost power!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Rob
from Berwyn
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality for those times of need. Electric start is great for the wives and the whole machine is pretty manageable. Bought Generac for the reputation of quality and support.
The gas tank could be designed better to deal with spills. Otherwise its a great generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice features

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
klb
from Ann Arbor
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this since my power goes out a few times a year, and it seems like a great generator. It is a little heavy to move for my old age, but the wheels make it bearable.
Haven't gotten to use yet, but I know it will do the job when needed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Generator

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Medlockcc
from El Paso
State:TX - Texas
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this generator for use on construction sites and works great. Highly recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features at a value price.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Reddog
from Hastings
State:MI - Michigan
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased, my generator came with a lot of nice features as standard that many other brands don't even offer, or charge extra for as upgrades. Highly recommend Generac products, great features, and value priced.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Photopete
from Indianapolis
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator is extremely well made, and very durable. I'm very impressed with its quality.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product why not make it in USA!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Woody08
State:MI - Michigan
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I know Generac has to compete, but I'd pay extra to know my generator was made in America. Great product started on first pull. Quieter than other generators in its class.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It will definitely work for you.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Haigh1970
from Swartz Creek
State:MI - Michigan
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this delivered to the house. The packaging was very good. No damage. I did all the assembly within a half hour. Filled it with oil and put some gas into the tank. I used the electric start and it started up with no problems. Temp outside was less than 5 F. I bought the electric start only for my wife so she could start it up if I wasn't home. The manual provides all information needed to star and maintain the unit.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome power

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
mr shank
from Indianapolis
State:IN - Indiana
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the gp 6500 yest. Running all
The essentials, furnace, fridge, tv and coffee maker, thanks generac
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use.

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
J13
from Eaton
State:OH - Ohio
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this product for home backup. Assembly was minimal and it started on the first pull. Hook up to the house was also easy.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Anns
from Crosby
State:TX - Texas
Age:25-34
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This generator has worked great for our needs this far. The wind can blow the wrong way and our side of the street will be without power for hours. This generator has always been easy to use when we need to get through the night.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP6500E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with purchase

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
wbm49
from Crossville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to assemble. Half a pull and was running. Now, like insurance I hope I never need it.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>