Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP6500

Generac Power Systems GP6500

The GP6500 is an excellent choice for emergency power when backing up multiple appliances. Use it around the house for DIY projects.
Overall rating:
4.726 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(201 reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 201 reviews
5 Stars
159
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
193 out of 19997%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
149 Questions | 171 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP6500
Review 1 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what is advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
from Jobstown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided that going without electricity and having the basement flood after the last hurricane was more stress than I wanted in my life. I did a lot searching on the internet for a generator that would give me the best peace of mind. I settled on the Generac 5940 GP6500- 6500 Watt Portable Generator (5940).
I paid for the tail gate service and it was delivered very promptly and wheeled up to my house. Assembly was extremely easy. I put oil and gas in it as directed, and with one pull it was running. A few weeks later I had the "Transfer Switch" installed and we killed all power to the house, started the generator, and flipped the transfer switch to the operating position. Everything we had connected (which was just about everything except central air conditioning) was powered on. We even ran water until our well pump turned on and the generator never even hesitated or appeared to be under strain.
So if we ever lose electricity again, especially for a long duration of time, the neighbors will see that we have heat, water, and lights. They will all be welcome!
Thanks Generac for supplying a product that truly is what is advertised. In today's world it is nice to see some honesty in advertising.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Power Came on Just Before We Fired It Up!

PostedDecember 28, 2015
Customer avatar
State:OR - Oregon
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were into a two day power outage and the temperature was in the 20's. Called ahead and paid over the phone - picked Generac because of the name and quality.
Drove 70 miles and picked it up and by the time I got home I was too tired to put it together. It got down to 13, but our propane stove kept us warm - put our food outside!
Got the generator put together and the power came on! Took a break, added oil and cranked w/o gas to make sure everything was oiled good and it started! Filled with gas and started on the first crank. Plugged in 2 space heaters and the truck engine heater and let it run for an hour and a half to break it in for next time.
Plugged in the battery charger and charged for 24 hours to make sure it is ready to go - really like the battery start feature! Great purchase for us - we have been wanting to get one.
(Your program won't let me post a 4 X 6 photo.)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with the GP6500

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
from Helena
State:OK - Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator ran perfectly and powered what we needed during our last ice storm. I have 1500 sq ft and we could run our water well, water heater and lights and receptacles.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features and extremely easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2015
Customer avatar
from sedalia
State:MO - Missouri
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this unit as a backup for our new home and I'm extremely happy with the investment. This is a very easy to use and maintain unit that takes care of all of our needs. Thank you for a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice generator

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Customer avatar
from Hartford City
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for mainly pump water and freezer during power outage. Put it together and started on first pull. Ran great. Just a little loud. Loader than a lawnmower, but worth the money. Nice to have during those ice storms. Would of giving it 5 if it wasn't so loud.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very dependable

PostedDecember 8, 2015
Customer avatar
from Lakeland
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Starts on the first pull when primed properly. It's been very useful and dependable and is very quiet for a large unit.
It has helped me out on several occasions. Worth it's weight for sure.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performer

PostedDecember 7, 2015
Customer avatar
from Hillman
State:MI - Michigan
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The GP6500E is exactly as advertised. It is a well functioning unit and easy to use. I couldn't ask for a better generator for the price. Im especially pleased with the electric start which is a big benefit for us older folks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product.is everything it says it is.

PostedDecember 5, 2015
Customer avatar
from Forestburgh
State:NY - New York
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent generator.it does everything it claims.l would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a generator for home use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a remarkable starting ability never had one problem

PostedDecember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
from Essex
State:MD - Maryland
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in a single home with oil heat and during the winter I need something to run all of the major things in the house if my power is lost this generator for the price is the best purchase that I've ever made it starts every time on the first or second pull I never had a problem with the needing more power than it supplies and if I do overload the circuit The Breakers work and help me to be confident so that my family is not left in the dark
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator. Generac is still living up to its name. Best of the best!!

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
State:ME - Maine
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely quite. Takes quite a load before even phasing the machine. Very lite in weight for its size. Easy to stow away especially if space is limited
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
from Sterling Heights
State:MI - Michigan
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a lot of on line research before my purchase. I found this unit on sale for an incredibly low price that pretty much made the purchase a no brainier compared to the other Generators on the market. I haven't had the need to use it yet but do start it up once a month as per instructions. It's very easy to start. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it is a little noisy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality for a great price!

PostedNovember 30, 2015
Customer avatar
from McComb
State:MS - Mississippi
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for hurricane season. Have read tons of great reviews on it, and will be glad to have it in case of a hurricane or other loss of power event. Can't beat the quality for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

PostedNovember 21, 2015
Customer avatar
from Hobart
State:IN - Indiana
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this generator for back up. It was easy to assemble. It started up on the third pull right out of the box. i have only needed it once, but it fired right up on the first pull, very happy with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ready in case of need.

PostedNovember 20, 2015
Customer avatar
from Marion
State:IA - Iowa
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fires right up and hardly needs to be choked.
The airless wheels make it easy to maneuver.
The handle that raises/folds also makes it easy to move.
Haven't had to use it for a power outage...yet, but have tested it on power tools and it ran them without any problems
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

glad to have this

PostedNovember 15, 2015
Customer avatar
from Redgranite
State:WI - Wisconsin
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product, easy set up and install. Live in rural area and power sometimes goes out for a while, so always wanted this. Looking for an enclosure to buy so I can store it closer to outlet, not sure how it will pull through snow from garage. Started on first pull, hope it's always that easy to start.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality machine

PostedNovember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
from White Bear Lake
State:MN - Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a 3 day outage this summer, I upgraded from a 5000 watt generator to the 6500 watt Generac and installed a larger transfer switch so I could power more items during our frequent power outages. The machine is obviously well built. It has a small footprint and it's easy to move and started on the first pull. Based on other reviews I thought it might be a little noisy. But it actually seems quieter than my old one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product!

PostedNovember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
from Floral Park
State:NY - New York
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought this product last week. The set up was easy and running it is even simpler. Definitely a quality product I would refer to others.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed for small home back up

PostedOctober 23, 2015
Customer avatar
from Eagle River
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is just what we needed for a back up generator. We live in a very wooded rural area and power outages in the winter can be brutal when temps drop below minus 20. The GP6500 is perfect because it is portable and reliable. Now when we lose power during a winter storm we grab the generator out of the garage and plug it into the transfer switch and it keeps us and our house from freezing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product is light and robust.

PostedOctober 1, 2015
Customer avatar
from Lubbock
State:TX - Texas
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We got a unit that gave us a trailer mounted united that ran all equipment, pump controllers and, tools we have in our trucks with room to grow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

PostedSeptember 22, 2015
Customer avatar
from Lake
State:MI - Michigan
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in an area that is rural and the power goes out a few times a year. A month ago we had a storm and lost power for about 24 hours. I had a little generator but it was only good for a couple lights and t.v.. Problem is I have a refrigerator, a freezer, and a well pump I need power to as well. Next week I went looking for a bigger more reliable generator and found it with my generac 6500. After I got it home I was actually hoping to have another storm knock the power out so I could see how it would do. Wasnt long and it happened! It was only about a week later another storm came through and knocked the power out for about 7 hours. Long enough to try out the new generac. Rolled it out easy enough even though it's pretty heavy, pulled once and it was running like a champ. Plugged in the necessities and it handled everything. It was so nice to have in that situation. This winter I plan on having a transfer switch so I can run everything from lights to heat. I'd recommend this generator if your looking for one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700September 23, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review of the GP6500E portable generator. While we are sorry to learn that you experienced an extended outage, we are glad to know that our product was there for you in your time of need! If you haven't already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty. For your convenience, the registration process can be completed online via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati... .

Also, if/when you decide to purchase a manual transfer switch to use in conjunction with your portable unit, we would recommend working with an independent authorized dealer to ensure that you are utilizing the appropriate products and configuration for your backup power needs. These parties should be able to ensure that your installation is completed in accordance with any local codes that may apply. To locate an independent authorized dealer closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes here:
http://www.generac.com/dealer-locat... . If there are any questions that we can answer for you at any time, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We have representatives available 24/7.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>