Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.798 out of 5
4.82 out of 5
4.774 out of 5
4.78 out of 5
4.863 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.863 out of 5
4.821 out of 5
4.82 out of 5
4.798 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.798 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(382 reviews) 382
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 382 reviews
5 Stars
313
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
378 out of 38199%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
213 Questions | 234 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit noisy

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Firsttimehomeowner
from Hamilton
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this for an upcoming storm. We did indeed need it. I used it for two refridgerators, microwave, furnace and a space heater. Definitely held up. I read the spec sheet to not overload it and came close but it held up for sure. A bit on the noisy end. My neighbor can hear it two houses down. It did it's job and that's all I was concerned with.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It starts right up on the first cord pull.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
bob7
from Melbourne
State:FL - Florida
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator has been dependable from the start. It's there when needed without a having a sore arm trying to get it started, It starts instantly.
Best of all the GP5500 has all the power needed to run most of a house which is important to me, if a hurricane hit Florida, where I do live.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still trying this product haven't had it long enough to know for sure/

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ditchrider
from Blackfoot
State:ID - Idaho
Age:Over 65
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very easy to start. not sure we had trouble getting it to charge our trailer. It's in the shop now. Your telephone opperators are very kind and helpful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money spent for great features.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Milanomaker
from West Chester
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This model is outstanding for the homeowner who needs power. Living in the Northeast we experience power outages too frequently. This Generac model provides all that I need to power my furnace, refrigerator, lights, etc. Well worth the money spent for the peace of mind of knowing that Generac is an outstanding generator, with a reputable history. I would recommend this generator to everyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is dependable in an emergency.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
derrick73
from Havelock
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:55-64
Easy starting, quick installation, runs necessities in house.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Ben
State:MI - Michigan
Age:25-34
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this because our power was out for a few days. I ended up running it almost another 2 days straight to power our refridgerator, freezer, tv, some lights, etc and probably could have plugged in more things. I heard great things about the Generac name and their generators will not disappoint. This model has a fuel gauge, an hour meter (which is helpful in keeping track of when to do maintenance items), and it is easy to drain the fuel from the tank for when the generator is not being used. Overall, great value for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to assemble, easy to start

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
EdT
from Glen Ellyn
State:IL - Illinois
Age:Over 65
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I found the instructions clear and easy to follow. The generator was up and running in a few minutes and was very easy to start which is important to my wife.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They have every application you need

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
John78
from Greenwood
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very reliable and easy on fuel.... Best of both worlds
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

generator

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kknight1
from clarksburg
State:WV - West Virginia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ran for 48 hrs straight no problem very good generator for the price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cgeadp
Ohio
Fantastic Product
Posted August 3, 2014
Fantastic
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

peace of mind!!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
frenchguy
from Hortonville
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my gp5500 in march along with a 6 circuit transfer switch. I installed the transfer switch myself after watching the dvd & everything went great!! generator starts on first pull & performs flawlessly!! showed my wife how to hook up & start & now she can hook it up if Im at work! can run all our necessary things like furnace, well pump, fridge & freezer & also out tv & a few lights!! have not had a power outage yet but we are ready when it happens!! gives my family peace of mind that when power fails we can still use out basic needs!! highy recommended!! Al & Melody Rougeux, Hortonville WI
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
thekat
from South Bend
State:IN - Indiana
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I could not believe how easy it was to set up and run. I am 66 years old and had no problem (except getting the wheels on) getting it up-and-running. Ran 2 freezers, one refrigerator, and my neighbors refrigerator. I am now looking into getting the plug by my fuse panel to run the house since I have a well.
If I can do it anyone can! Thanks for a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every woman should own one, it starts right up!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Pat50
from Harvey's Lake
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The price seemed right, generac has a good reputation. I decided that the 5500 would be fine for what we needed. Easy to put together, started up on the first try. So far great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeG
from Harleysville
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For functionality and value, you won't find a better unit than the GP5500. Easy to assemble, use, and maintain. Highly recommended for powering the household essentials.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price. Well known product.

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Bucky
from Arcadia
State:FL - Florida
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product because of the name [GENERAC] and the price was right.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Fred1
Burlingham, NY
Reasonably priced. Compact size with large fuel ca
Posted July 16, 2014
I had this unit wired in to my home electrical system by a licensed electrician and it powers my whole house. Easy starting and easy to fuel up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator is great!

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike
from Southport
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The generator is easy to assemble and starts easy. Easy to reach all the components that require annual maintenance. It will power a couple of fridges and allows us to run other household items we need to weather a long term power outage. We purchased this after moving to the coast and surviving a couple of long term outages before. Make sure you have a power plan for your appliances so you don't overload and always keep some load on it while it is running.
When doing maintenance make sure you know where to dispose of your petrolem waste. Easy to change the oil and air filters.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good buy for the price

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Kickstand
from Mexia
State:TX - Texas
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good overall generator. A little on the loud side compared to other generators of the same size. Powers my camper with no problems once I got the 30 amp 4 prong adapter. My only complaint is with the pull start assembly. Already needs replaced. The plastic center spring housing has broken. It was not abused or treated roughly. Pull start hung up one time, took apart to see what the problem was and discovered black plastic pieces broken and falling out of pull start assembly. Once I replace that I'll be a happy camper again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>