Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.705 out of 5
4.765 out of 5
4.675 out of 5
4.883 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
4.883 out of 5
4.765 out of 5
4.757 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.705 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.705 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(444 reviews) 444
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 444 reviews
5 Stars
352
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
0
1 Star
9
429 out of 43998%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
243 Questions | 270 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer avatar
melofellow
from Jacksonville
State:AL - Alabama
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this during one of our recent power outages. Brought it home and had running it 30 minutes! It is incredibly simple to use - my wife worked through the operating sequence with no problems (including the pull start). This one stays up at the house!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 19, 2015
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our GP5500 portable generator. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, and receive warranty information and consumer alerts, by registering your unit via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems Solid

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Gman
from Mount Airy
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far i've run this generator for about 5 hours and it seems to be a solid built stable generator. I think if taken really good care of this generator can last for many years to come. I hooked it up to my house via transfer switch and it run all the lights tv and my salt water fish tank with no problem at all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been proven to be a reliable and economical.

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer avatar
PopsnTexas
from Washington
State:TX - Texas
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this generator for emergency standby power during outages several times and it keeps the water well, refrigerators,lights, and television working.
I have also used this generator for several outside construction projects using air compressors, drills, saws nail gun etc. performs well with steady reliable power. Would recommend this generator. I particularly like the electric start. With good normal maintenance I expect many years of reliable service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 12, 2015
Thank you for providing us with a thorough review of your portable generator. Don’t forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati... to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 5500 Portable Generator

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer avatar
sparky725
from Fernley
State:NV - Nevada
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a top of the line generator for camping and fun. It is durable and has quality features like plug covers. You can't go wrong with this generator for camping it has it all and provides reliable power to boot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Eckertfan
from athens
State:OH - Ohio
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought unit and ran for 24 hours so far with out any issues. Would recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 9, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review! We truly value your feedback. Don’t forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for the money

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Eric19723
from Carver
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
generator runs and starts great. great machine for all my needs home backuop and portable power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great backup

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
psudave
from Crossville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit was perfect for what we needed powered after a bad icestorm knocked power out. Easy to use and great value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was bought for house backup power for when the power company cant keep the power on

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
oldman
from Maryville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased this unit because the power in the south goes out and can stay out for over a week at a time easy.
we bought the Generac GP5500 Generator because of the durability and the price. This model is the least you should buy for the house( for the watts). This unit came with the 25' cord that has four outlets and that's all we need and that's all it will run.
I unpacked the unit, some small assembly required (easy enough) filled the oil and gas pulled the cord about 8 inches and it started with ease. " Now that's a Generac generator " it ran quit and smooth. Thank goodness the power came back on. the unit went to the shed for use later. well spent money on a insurance that we can keep the house going during a outage. (now the power will never go out)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 24, 2015
We are glad that the unit is performing admirably for you! Don’t forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for what it does

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Logan44
from Friendsville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We purchased this generator, not knowing how long our power would be out following an ice storm in our area. By the time I got it setup, it only ran about 5 hours before our electricity was restored. So, although I can't really offer a long term review, I can say it was an easy assembly, started right up, and did what it was advertised to do. I ran two small heaters, refrigerator, and some other small electronics off of it. We will keep it for future emergencies, and feel good knowing we have it if we ever need it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STARTS EASY, RUNS GREAT

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
JERRYFIXIT
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought generator for dry camping,3 days later lost power due to ice storm. Camped in driveway with all the comforts of home with our new Generac. Starts great, just one pull, a little noisy but other than that worked great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solidly Build

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Tone
from CUMMING
State:GA - Georgia
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this generator during a winter ice storm. I didn't have any options to choose from as it was the last generator they had at the store. As soon as I opened the box I could tell it was put together very well. I got it set up and it started on the first pull. It does the job very well and has some extra features that are very nice. Even though I didn't have any other choices, I am glad I bought the Generac as it seems to be one of the best available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 19, 2015
On behalf of Generac, thank you for your thorough review of the GP5500. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, and receive warranty information and consumer alerts, by registering your unit via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great features

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
JC
from Point Pleasant
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Really nice unit that will come though in an emergency
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for the money

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
murph
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took it out of the box, assembled it as directed. No issues. Filled with the oil provided, used the whole quart. Manual does not state how much oil but the entire quart is what it took. Put some gas in it, a little sea foam, set it to start and pulled the starter rope. Started on the first easy pull! I let it run about 5 minutes. It's about as loud as a riding mower. Plugged a shop vac into it and it works just fine. Shut it off with no issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 3, 2015
Thank you for your thorough review. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, obtain warranty-related information, and receive consumer alerts, by registering your unit properly via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

purchased wired and ready , let it show and the power off and were ready.

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Rick
from Georgetown
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All gassed up and ran a test run and ready to use. Ready for the snow and the power to go off.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More power to you

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Jski
from Long Island
State:NY - New York
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This gp5500 is an awesome machine. It got us through sandy with no problem. Ran like a champ. Starts right up on first pull. It's a beast. The only setback is this beast is loud. Very loud.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Consumer friendly

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Haligan07
from Haverhill
State:MA - Massachusetts
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The unit is easy to start, powerful, and affordable. Staff assembled and ran the unit prior to pick up. Powered my needed electrical appliances and comfort items. Glad to have this unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 3, 2015
Thank you for submitting your review on the GP5500 portable generator. Be sure to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to join Generac Nation, and receive product-related updates in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>