Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.759 out of 5
4.801 out of 5
4.712 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
4.873 out of 5
4.801 out of 5
4.769 out of 5
4.759 out of 5
4.712 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.759 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(456 reviews) 456
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 456 reviews
5 Stars
367
4 Stars
74
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
447 out of 45498%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
253 Questions | 283 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Power outage

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer avatar
bt214
from Fort Wayne
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We had a major storm come thru on June 27, 2015 and knocked out all the power. I was told we would not get power until Tuesday June 30, 2015 at 11:59 pm and I needed to save my freezer food and other medicine so I had to get something quick. There was nothing to be had in the area of Fort Wayne, I had to go to Indianapolis, In to get it. I think the cost is a bit high for the machine. I again lost power on Tuesday June 30, at 346 pm I had the machine running for about 2 hours and it worked good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does the job

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Mike58
from Wenonah
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We lost power for six days and I was very happy with the job the generator did. It kept my refridge running, TV and DVR player and a couple of lamps. I will be adding a manual transfer switch so if loss power again I will be able to run gas boiler to have heat if needed and hot water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid craftsmanship

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Misterh
from Mantua
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This Generac GPseries 5500 saved us during the recent massive South Jersey storm that knocked out our power for 5 days. It was easy to hook up our patio fridge, window box AC, lamps, and fans. It was super reliable, easy to start, and a snap to setup.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJune 27, 2015
Customer avatar
DebbyL
from Blackwood
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this generator during a mass storm in June 2015. We were without power for 4 days - which was lucky compared to others in our area. We used to to power 2 refrigerators & 1 freezer, and one night we used it for our oven & tv. It was easy to set up & begin operating quickly. We were mainly concerned with saving our food, as the weather was cool & we didn't need air conditioning or heat.
It worked great - ran over 10 hours on 5 gallons of gas!
We ran extension cords to neighbors, and eventually they ran out and bought their own generator.
It is easily portable, easy to use, and easy to store for the next time. We now have peace of mind to "weather any storm" in the future.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, 30 Amp power cable, compact

PostedJune 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Lumenire
from Blackwood
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to setup and start. Runs smoothly. Plenty of power to run appliances.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Purchase

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Mike
from Baltimore
State:MD - Maryland
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the generator was very simple to set up. Just add oil and gasoline and you're ready to go. I needed this generator in an emergency hail storm situation. Torrential downpours and strong winds knocked the power out, so the sump pumps couldn't run. I had this generator up and running in about 5 minutes. Strongly recommend a Generac.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700June 25, 2015
We are thrilled to know that our product was there for your in your time of need! Thank you for submitting your candid review! Also, to ensure that your unit is registered for warranty coverage, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati... . Doing so will also allow you to receive future consumer alerts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just put it together!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Papa55
from Antioch
State:IL - Illinois
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine. Starts fast and does what it is designed to do. One little issue- the pull starter could be moved a little so it's not so close to the handle when starting. Haven't needed it in an emergency yet, but expecting it to provide the power I need when I need it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The GP5500 started up on the first pull.

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Howard62
from Missouri City
State:TX - Texas
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The cover for the air breather was cracked when I opened the box, but Customer Service shipped me a new one. Support was great.
The unit started on the first pull. I have only used it once. It ran my compressor with no problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worries are over

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Buckshot
from Sevierville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this portable generator to avoid disaster if electricity is not available for my fridge and freezer. Well packaged, simple, easy assembly and started on first pull. Bring on the bad weather, we are ready.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great machine

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Neal
from Van Horne
State:IA - Iowa
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this machine starts right up and runs quiet, easy to use features. use this on our farm and it works great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I would expect from a Generac

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Dave
from Crestview
State:FL - Florida
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Generator was bought for the hurricane preparedness in Florida that we prep for. It always starts with the first pull and is as reliable as I would expect from such a great company. This Generator gives me peace of mind for me and my family when we need it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of power

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Peaceofmind
from waterloo
State:ON - Ontario
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has more than enough power to run our main electrical items (fridge, freezer, water pump, lights, etc.) in our house. We purchased as a back-up system during power outages. The best feature is the peace-of-mind it brings my wife.....she no longer 'worries' about what to do without hydro.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Genny

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
alkrisma
from Boston
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've have had to use Genny a few times now. Always starts & other than a tight choke lever it's done everything it's supposed to do. Bumbed out that shortly after I got my generator Generac updated my model with weather proof outlet covers, a better handle design and electric start
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for home supplement

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
rds23602
from Gloucester
State:VA - Virginia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living out in a rural area, when we lose power in storms or fallen trees/limbs, it does take a while to get it restored. Now with the Generac generator we are ready to protect food in the freezer and fridge. We also have well water and will now be able to connect the well pump to keep water running in the house. With our electric chain saw we can now take the generator to the problem and deal with it instead of having to wait for power to return and hope we have a long enough cord to get out on the property. The purchase of this product has taken a big load off our shoulders and now do not dread the loss of power. We are ready to deal with situation. Thanks Generac!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700April 6, 2015
We are happy knowing that you are able to put our product to good use! Thank you for your review. Don't forget to register your unit with Generac Nation here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very well built unit.

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer avatar
john238
from elpaso
State:IL - Illinois
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator is well built and has low noise,great for all around use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator is well worth the money!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Tina
from etna
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator starts the first time every time I try to start it. I am a small frame woman and I find this generator also very easy to pull around versus other generators we have had and I don't have to depend on my husband to help me move it or to get it started. This generator is such a good generator and very appealing that someone cut a steel cable and stole my first one right out of the back of my truck in a restaurant parking lot and that is why I went back and bought another one to replace the one that the thief found irrestable. So not only do honest people appreciate the value of this generator so do dishonest people.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700April 1, 2015
Thank you providing us with your detailed review! We are sorry to learn that your first unit was stolen! To register your unit to your name for warranty related purposes, and to receive future consumer alerts, we would recommend registering your unit with Generac Nation via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati.... If you have any questions about this process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>