Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.8 out of 5
4.833 out of 5
4.777 out of 5
4.839 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.873 out of 5
4.839 out of 5
4.833 out of 5
4.8 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(401 reviews) 401
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 401 reviews
5 Stars
329
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
396 out of 40099%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
227 Questions | 255 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator has everything in a portable

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
GeoW
from Bernville
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent several days shopping both on-line and in local stores for a generator for both back-up electric for our home, and use in remote construction projects. This generac is the perfect fit for our needs. The only minor suggestions for improvement are: the unit comes with 30 weight oil and many users live in cold areas where this would not be the best choice.... and, the oil fill neck on the unit is a little difficult to access. My congrats, however, the generator started on the first pull, here in PA (temperature was in the high 20's).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This had the most bang for the buck- it does everything a more expensive one would, except it's louder...

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
CK
from Vashon
State:WA - Washington
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator provides the most bang for the buck- it does everything a more expensive one would do, just louder... Which could be a factor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
BCL
from Athol
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to set up, instructions clear. Easy to start and use for both home backup and portable power. Need about 4800 watts during power failures...no problem for this workhorse.....8 to 10 hours on one tank of gas. My wife easily fills and starts when I'm not home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great right out of the box!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Jonny
from Fairhaven
State:MA - Massachusetts
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased this generator a week ago so I'm just getting used to everything it has to offer. I'm a left leg amputee and was able to assemble everything myself as well as easily operate and monuver the unit. I filed it with oil and gas and_was trying too slowly engage the pull start to move the oil through the machine and it almost started. Very impressed only time will tell if it continues to Suprise me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features, easy to start.

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Brian
from Feastervilke
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easily portable, perfect back up generator for power outages.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
ehawk
from Jacksonville
State:AR - Arkansas
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very sturdy lots of power my 11 year old child started it with the first pull.the handle and wheels makes it easy to maneuver and move around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and plenty of power.

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
TheParman
from Red Oak
State:TX - Texas
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Started right up and ran without any hestitation. Connected several items including a 240v heater and 14 amp electric saw at same time and no problems. The only thing I wished to be included is the wiring diagram for the 240v outlet. Had to go online and dowload spec sheet to get it. Anyone not an electrician might have trouble converting a 4 wire plug to a 3 wire outlet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Bill
from Houston
State:TX - Texas
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchase my Generac Generator on a Friday.I went fishing that night and fished all night. I hooked up two lights to me generator and ran it until daybreak.I think its a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and works great

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
LKR
from Honolulu
State:HI - Hawaii
Age:35-44
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powers fridge, deep freezer, dryer and entertainment equipment no problem. Good bang for the buck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
pat45
from arlington
State:TX - Texas
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great generator it saved us during our last blackout in Oct 2014.Would recommend this to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfectly fits my needs!

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
DFW77
from Arlington
State:TX - Texas
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We're in the middle of a power outage caused by a severe line of storms. I went out and bought this generator without doing any research whatsoever -- I just needed a generator! It hasn't let me down. I'm currently powering my fridge (and the neighbor's fridge & freezers), my computer/router/modem, lights, and various other small appliances with no issues at all. In fact I'm currently typing this review on my computer that's on generator power. Wish it had a wattage gauge and an estimated time to empty fuel on it but those are minor details.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet unit for Power

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mitch
State:IL - Illinois
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The GP5500 is a replacement for an older Generator we have had for many years. This new generator is compact, reliable and functionally better than other 5000-6500W competitors. Easy of use with the attached handle is great. We use this for outdoor power in the woods and also as a backup when the weather turns. Reasonably quiet and full of juice to keep the group happy from lights to tools. Great Purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product highly reccomended

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Jon
from Joelton
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, great price great great great highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent !

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Tim
from Ray
State:ND - North Dakota
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I researched units for two weeks and this unit was best for the money! I have a food truck business in North Dakota's oil boom and needed reliable emergency backup power for outages! It runs my entire business with room to spare " that was the intention". Put the unit together and it started on the first pull! Good looking machine and is a power house too! Thank you generac!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator works good.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeSara
from Ridgway
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the GP5500 to use for my camper. It was so easy to set up and use. It was a perfect size and powered everything we used. However the wife and I had a problem lifting it on the back of the truck. A little heavy for us old farts. But other than that we were very happy with it's performance. I would recommend this product for those who have a camper. We also plan on using it as a back up when our electric goes out at home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent generator for the price

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Turbinemech
from Cincinnati
State:OH - Ohio
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work on utility sized generators. Generac is one of the best. I purchased this one for backing up my home during outages, and may use it for other projects or outings. The generator was simple to set up and assemble. I recommend using lock nuts or thread lock on the bolts, since they tend to vibrate loose as stated in other reviews. Put oil and gas in and the unit started first pull. The unit is noisy, but quieter than the gas drive welder that I have used in the past. Tested it with a Shop Vac and it worked perfectly. One note, I have always been taught to close the fuel valve and allow the engine to run out of fuel, this keeps the carburetor from gumming up. I have never had to rebuild a carburetor on any of the small engines I have owned.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>