Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.758 out of 5
4.794 out of 5
4.709 out of 5
4.667 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
4.871 out of 5
4.794 out of 5
4.758 out of 5
4.757 out of 5
4.727 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.758 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(446 reviews) 446
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 446 reviews
5 Stars
359
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
437 out of 44498%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
246 Questions | 275 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I would expect from a Generac

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Dave
from Crestview
State:FL - Florida
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Generator was bought for the hurricane preparedness in Florida that we prep for. It always starts with the first pull and is as reliable as I would expect from such a great company. This Generator gives me peace of mind for me and my family when we need it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of power

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Peaceofmind
from waterloo
State:ON - Ontario
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has more than enough power to run our main electrical items (fridge, freezer, water pump, lights, etc.) in our house. We purchased as a back-up system during power outages. The best feature is the peace-of-mind it brings my wife.....she no longer 'worries' about what to do without hydro.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Genny

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
alkrisma
from Boston
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've have had to use Genny a few times now. Always starts & other than a tight choke lever it's done everything it's supposed to do. Bumbed out that shortly after I got my generator Generac updated my model with weather proof outlet covers, a better handle design and electric start
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for home supplement

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
rds23602
from Gloucester
State:VA - Virginia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living out in a rural area, when we lose power in storms or fallen trees/limbs, it does take a while to get it restored. Now with the Generac generator we are ready to protect food in the freezer and fridge. We also have well water and will now be able to connect the well pump to keep water running in the house. With our electric chain saw we can now take the generator to the problem and deal with it instead of having to wait for power to return and hope we have a long enough cord to get out on the property. The purchase of this product has taken a big load off our shoulders and now do not dread the loss of power. We are ready to deal with situation. Thanks Generac!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700April 6, 2015
We are happy knowing that you are able to put our product to good use! Thank you for your review. Don't forget to register your unit with Generac Nation here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very well built unit.

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer avatar
john238
from elpaso
State:IL - Illinois
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator is well built and has low noise,great for all around use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator is well worth the money!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Tina
from etna
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator starts the first time every time I try to start it. I am a small frame woman and I find this generator also very easy to pull around versus other generators we have had and I don't have to depend on my husband to help me move it or to get it started. This generator is such a good generator and very appealing that someone cut a steel cable and stole my first one right out of the back of my truck in a restaurant parking lot and that is why I went back and bought another one to replace the one that the thief found irrestable. So not only do honest people appreciate the value of this generator so do dishonest people.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700April 1, 2015
Thank you providing us with your detailed review! We are sorry to learn that your first unit was stolen! To register your unit to your name for warranty related purposes, and to receive future consumer alerts, we would recommend registering your unit with Generac Nation via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati.... If you have any questions about this process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of power at a great price.

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Seth1978
from Fort Smith
State:AR - Arkansas
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the GP5500 to serve as a source of backup power primarily to keep my mother's O2 concentrater running instead of only having a limited amount of O2 tanks on reserve.
It has enough power to run her unit, their fridge, TV and satellite as well as some lights.
We will be looking into a transfer switch to make it a little easier to get everything running soon. Well almost everything. Also this will allow me to run my table saw in my shop instead of having to run a longer extention cord out to the shop I can just set it up outside it and I'm good to go. It'll run the saw, shop vac and a shop light.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 31, 2015
Thank you for your detailed review! In regards to your unit, please note that Generac’s GP5500 portable generator, model number 5939 features one 120/240v 30A L14-30R twist lock receptacle (protected by two 25A circuit breakers), and two 120v 20A 5-20R duplex outlets (protected by two 20A 1-pole circuit breakers). Also, it will feature a maximum running wattage of 5,500 watts, and a VAC rating of 45.8.5 amps at 120v 22.9 amps at 240v. Considering these specifications, we would recommend ensuring that any load, or combination of loads, applied to the unit not exceed any of these ratings. If you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just enough

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer avatar
jeanne
from wesley chapel
State:FL - Florida
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use if for camping. What a lifesaver at times when you don't want to be around people and find a secluded spot
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer avatar
melofellow
from Jacksonville
State:AL - Alabama
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this during one of our recent power outages. Brought it home and had running it 30 minutes! It is incredibly simple to use - my wife worked through the operating sequence with no problems (including the pull start). This one stays up at the house!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 19, 2015
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our GP5500 portable generator. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, and receive warranty information and consumer alerts, by registering your unit via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems Solid

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Gman
from Mount Airy
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far i've run this generator for about 5 hours and it seems to be a solid built stable generator. I think if taken really good care of this generator can last for many years to come. I hooked it up to my house via transfer switch and it run all the lights tv and my salt water fish tank with no problem at all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been proven to be a reliable and economical.

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer avatar
PopsnTexas
from Washington
State:TX - Texas
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this generator for emergency standby power during outages several times and it keeps the water well, refrigerators,lights, and television working.
I have also used this generator for several outside construction projects using air compressors, drills, saws nail gun etc. performs well with steady reliable power. Would recommend this generator. I particularly like the electric start. With good normal maintenance I expect many years of reliable service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 12, 2015
Thank you for providing us with a thorough review of your portable generator. Don’t forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati... to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 5500 Portable Generator

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer avatar
sparky725
from Fernley
State:NV - Nevada
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a top of the line generator for camping and fun. It is durable and has quality features like plug covers. You can't go wrong with this generator for camping it has it all and provides reliable power to boot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Eckertfan
from athens
State:OH - Ohio
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought unit and ran for 24 hours so far with out any issues. Would recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700March 9, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review! We truly value your feedback. Don’t forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for the money

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Eric19723
from Carver
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
generator runs and starts great. great machine for all my needs home backuop and portable power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great backup

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
psudave
from Crossville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit was perfect for what we needed powered after a bad icestorm knocked power out. Easy to use and great value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was bought for house backup power for when the power company cant keep the power on

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
oldman
from Maryville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased this unit because the power in the south goes out and can stay out for over a week at a time easy.
we bought the Generac GP5500 Generator because of the durability and the price. This model is the least you should buy for the house( for the watts). This unit came with the 25' cord that has four outlets and that's all we need and that's all it will run.
I unpacked the unit, some small assembly required (easy enough) filled the oil and gas pulled the cord about 8 inches and it started with ease. " Now that's a Generac generator " it ran quit and smooth. Thank goodness the power came back on. the unit went to the shed for use later. well spent money on a insurance that we can keep the house going during a outage. (now the power will never go out)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700February 24, 2015
We are glad that the unit is performing admirably for you! Don’t forget to register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati..., to obtain warranty-related information and consumer alerts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>