Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.807 out of 5
4.829 out of 5
4.763 out of 5
4.775 out of 5
4.851 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.851 out of 5
4.829 out of 5
4.815 out of 5
4.807 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.807 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(374 reviews) 374
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 374 reviews
5 Stars
309
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
370 out of 37399%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
213 Questions | 234 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

generator

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kknight1
from clarksburg
State:WV - West Virginia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ran for 48 hrs straight no problem very good generator for the price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

peace of mind!!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
frenchguy
from Hortonville
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my gp5500 in march along with a 6 circuit transfer switch. I installed the transfer switch myself after watching the dvd & everything went great!! generator starts on first pull & performs flawlessly!! showed my wife how to hook up & start & now she can hook it up if Im at work! can run all our necessary things like furnace, well pump, fridge & freezer & also out tv & a few lights!! have not had a power outage yet but we are ready when it happens!! gives my family peace of mind that when power fails we can still use out basic needs!! highy recommended!! Al & Melody Rougeux, Hortonville WI
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
thekat
from South Bend
State:IN - Indiana
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I could not believe how easy it was to set up and run. I am 66 years old and had no problem (except getting the wheels on) getting it up-and-running. Ran 2 freezers, one refrigerator, and my neighbors refrigerator. I am now looking into getting the plug by my fuse panel to run the house since I have a well.
If I can do it anyone can! Thanks for a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every woman should own one, it starts right up!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Pat50
from Harvey's Lake
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The price seemed right, generac has a good reputation. I decided that the 5500 would be fine for what we needed. Easy to put together, started up on the first try. So far great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeG
from Harleysville
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For functionality and value, you won't find a better unit than the GP5500. Easy to assemble, use, and maintain. Highly recommended for powering the household essentials.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price. Well known product.

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Bucky
from Arcadia
State:FL - Florida
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product because of the name [GENERAC] and the price was right.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Fred1
Burlingham, NY
Reasonably priced. Compact size with large fuel ca
Posted July 16, 2014
I had this unit wired in to my home electrical system by a licensed electrician and it powers my whole house. Easy starting and easy to fuel up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator is great!

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike
from Southport
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The generator is easy to assemble and starts easy. Easy to reach all the components that require annual maintenance. It will power a couple of fridges and allows us to run other household items we need to weather a long term power outage. We purchased this after moving to the coast and surviving a couple of long term outages before. Make sure you have a power plan for your appliances so you don't overload and always keep some load on it while it is running.
When doing maintenance make sure you know where to dispose of your petrolem waste. Easy to change the oil and air filters.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good buy for the price

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Kickstand
from Mexia
State:TX - Texas
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good overall generator. A little on the loud side compared to other generators of the same size. Powers my camper with no problems once I got the 30 amp 4 prong adapter. My only complaint is with the pull start assembly. Already needs replaced. The plastic center spring housing has broken. It was not abused or treated roughly. Pull start hung up one time, took apart to see what the problem was and discovered black plastic pieces broken and falling out of pull start assembly. Once I replace that I'll be a happy camper again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works well for the price

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fredbird
from Appleton
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product was easy to use right out of the box. It was easy to set up. Started the first time. I have not had to run it for long time yet but now I am ready for a power outage.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it was advertised to be.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Racing1nascar
from Columbus
State:OH - Ohio
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loving my Generac GP5500. Powerful enough to run the essentials of my home when I need it to. Portable enough to use it for other things around the house or to haul in the back of my truck to work for me on the road away from home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent value for the price

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
johnqpublic
State:IA - Iowa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the 5500 to keep the fridge, freezer and sump pump going after the latest storm knocked out power in two counties. Assembled it by flashlight in the garage and got it up and running with only one problem ... the spark plug boot was broken. After a quick wrap with electrical tape, we were in business. Started it up at 10:30 at night and stopped it to refuel at 8:30 the next morning. Power came back on about an hour after that. All in all, I think it was a good investment. Just need to follow up on replacing the boot and the recommended maintenance schedule.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great American made unit

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
1944John
from Waukesha
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After a strong storm took out our power, and we had estimates of 3-days to restore it from the electric company, I decided to buy a generator. I loved the Generac unit because it is made in the USA, is well priced and has a number of models available. Hooked it up and I had emergency power!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has everything we needed

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
dedoo59
from Inola
State:OK - Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very satisfied with this generator. It will handle everything we need it to. My husband is on oxygen at night, so he needed something that will keep it running.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved the day

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Den
from North Ridgeville
State:OH - Ohio
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When my generator failed to start in a heck of a storm, I called my son to have him help. He purchased the 5500 portable unit & after hastily unpacking had it started in 3 pulls. It saved the flooding basement & powered some lights for us until power was restored. I am now having our electrician install the house transfer switch and can rely on our 5500 if needed again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value for the price

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Boricua
from Groveland
State:FL - Florida
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought the generator and put it together very quick....less than a half hour. Very easy to start. We haven't had the opportunity to use it for any length of time just long ennough to make sure it worked
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Gary76
from Warren
State:ME - Maine
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product was packaged well no shipping daage and even included a bottle of oil for start up. Started on the second pull. Voltage and frequency were right on the money.
I am using it for construction site power and it has worked beautifully so far. I would reccomend this product to anyone looking for a high quality generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>