Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

The GP5500 has enough power for emergency use, when you’re not using it for outdoor recreation and DIY projects.
Overall rating:
4.746 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(496 reviews) 496
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 496 reviews
5 Stars
391
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
484 out of 49199%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
275 Questions | 310 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Solid Machine

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
State:NJ - New Jersey
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My experience with the GP5500 has be very favorable. If there was an option to give the machine a 4.5 star rating, that is what I would have rated it. Because there wasn't that option, I rated it 4 stars.
I bought this generator to power essential services at my elderly mother's home in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy. It performed very well in the nine days that she was without power and allowed my bedridden mother to stay in her home as she wished. I would not hesitate to by this machine again. Since Sandy, we have had a few occasions to use the machine for much shorter periods of time. It has always started with relative ease.
The only criticism I have of the unit is that it is very noisy. Obviously, quiet operation is not the primary concern during an emergency situation. But it is worth noting in that multi-day operation of the unit does impose the burden of having to deal with the noise. I've purchased an extra long cable that allows us to get the machine further away from the house.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional value for the price !

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Customer avatar
from Roselle
State:IL - Illinois
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The features of this generator and the cost exceed my expectations. it will handle any of my power needs during our twice a year blackouts in my area.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GP5500 = One tough genny.

PostedDecember 17, 2015
Customer avatar
from Glassboro
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The storm:
The derecho of 2015 hit southern N.J. hard and fast leaving our part of Gloucester county without power for more than a week.The high winds knocked down many large, mature trees taking out the power of nearly our entire town.Our neighborhood was without power for eight days total, one of the last to have power restored.
After locating one of the last generators within 100 miles I was pleased it was of a brand I had heard of .I worried it would be under-powered but that turned out not to be the case.
Up and running:
I used this genny to power my large kitchen refrigerator (new), ancient chest freezer, hot water heater/ furnace (oil/hydronic) lights, TV and computer. The GP5500 ran without a stutter for eight days. I changed the oil once and refilled it when the fuel level dropped to 1/4 tank. It easily ran all night on a full tank with these loads.
Preparation and use:
Refueling took about 10 to 15 minutes with 5 gallon gas cans and oil changes about the same. It takes about a quart of oil.
The generator is easy to move around and wheels easily over the small bumps present in my yard. It was fully assembled when I picked it up from the hardware store. After a quick read of the well written instructions, I filled the crankcase and fuel tank. Turn a switch, fuel line open...
It started on the first pull.
I used extension cords run to my appliances during the storms aftermath and have since added a manual transfer switch to my electrical service. It now runs all the previous loads and six ceiling fans easily.
Overall impression:
This generator will serve emergency power needs for my 4 bedroom N.E. colonial home nicely. It seemed to be on the loud side at first but other portable generators in the neighborhood were audible over it. Re-fueling with gasoline can be a bit of a chore but for the storms I anticipate and the competitive price of the unit something I will deal with gladly.
It is finished nicely with thick paint and seems well made. If you do not mind schlepping gasoline around and the minor mess it entails this is a good emergency power source.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to operate, start, and maintain

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Customer avatar
from Flagstaff
State:AZ - Arizona
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I began my research for a portable generator that I could use at home to power several of the essential appliances in a power outage. I also wanted a generator that could used to power my travel trailer for long camping trips.
After observing and testing other generators, I decided on the Generac because of price, ease of operation, portability, and reputation.
The Generac 5500 watt generator easily filled the bill for both of the home and recreation requirements. It is simple to operate, easy to start, and maintain. I would highly recommend it for work, home, and recreation activities.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700December 15, 2015
We're pleased that you chose our GP5500 for your needs! Thank you for providing us with your review! If you haven't done so already, be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to ensure that you are able to initiate your unit's warranty. For your convenience, the registration process can be completed online via the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=f...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
from Gatesville
State:TX - Texas
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seems to be a great generator. Should have bought this before I purchased a bargain brand at a bargain store.
Guess you get what you pay for.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedDecember 6, 2015
Customer avatar
from Cookeville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently purchase the 5500 watt generator so far so good ,, it was easy to assemble I added the oil and gas and first pull it started !!! I have only used it very little so far I am pleased with the product !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made

PostedDecember 6, 2015
Customer avatar
from Pawcatuck
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product and a great price, Have recommended it to friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There when I need it.

PostedDecember 5, 2015
Customer avatar
from Centereach
State:NY - New York
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Generac 5500 for use at home after Hurricane Sandy. We had purchased 10 of these for the school district that I worked for and I was so impressed by their reliability and durability that I had to have one for myself. Luckily I haven't had to use mine for an emergency but I keep it ready, running it for at least 30 minutes once a month.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reliable and portable

PostedDecember 4, 2015
Customer avatar
from Columbus
State:OH - Ohio
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our generator is exactly what our household needed to weather the storms and serve as a backup power supply. It is compact and easy to store, test and move. The leverage created by the handle feature is a great advantage for a smaller built person.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had to buy

PostedDecember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
from Danville
State:KY - Kentucky
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase had to have one. Our electric company was having problems keeping power over the course of a few weeks I had to full freezers one of beef I was not going to lose them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest one to operate

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
from Palm Coast
State:FL - Florida
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Takes minimal setup. Great owners manual. Quiet while running. Started on first pull. Hope we never need it, but it will provide power as needed!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
from Hot Springs
State:AR - Arkansas
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband has just come back from deer camp and used our new generator. It was all he thought it would be. We initially purchased it in case of a power outage, thankfully that hasn't happened but we're sure it will be just what we wanted.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product for price

PostedNovember 27, 2015
Customer avatar
from Northfield
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shopped every portable and whole house generator. Decided on a portable due to price and installation ease. Generac comes highly recommended in all forums I looked at. Noise level is about normal for what is expected from a generator. I was impressed that it started on the first pull. Price was great for features and quality build, plus it comes with a 20 ft cable. (mine was missing but a quick call to Generac had one shipped out with no issues) Generac customer service was great and I spoke with a real person, not a recording or someone from a distant land answering the phone and reading the manual for answers. Overall Great purchase and would do it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerful, starts great,well built/sturdy, handles all my needs

PostedNovember 25, 2015
Customer avatar
from Punxsutawney
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this generator on 11/21/2015. It is the best generator I ever bought. I mainly use it in the garage to power a 5hp, 60 gallon Air compressor. The generator is powerful enough to power the air compressor, 10 lights 2,garage doors and all electric tools and hardly slows down when the air compressor kicks on. The RS 5500 is great in every way. I did put on rubber tires though to handle the load better. Like anything else, it must be maintained. I'm a mechanic,So I know that most issues come from self ignorance. I feel without a slightest doubt in mind that this generator will give me many years of service. I take care of everything I own and it shows. I am sold on this RS5500 and would trust it in any condition/situation. Thank you Generac.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great product

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the GP5500 as a backup to our small off grid cabin. Have a small solar system and use the generator to run cabin when solar power is down (solar system is a small portable 1800 watt system). Will get between 10 and 12 hours of run time. Only drawback is at times hard for my wife to pull start. Will be upgrading to Generac 17,000 watt unit as we just had well installed. Do definitely recommend Generac for price and quality!!
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
from Merrimac
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my RS5500 for home back-up and general use. I have used it several times and it works great. Even better than I expected. I have had a couple of other brand generators, but for the price , this unit is by far the best.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>