Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.799 out of 5
4.828 out of 5
4.772 out of 5
4.785 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.868 out of 5
4.828 out of 5
4.821 out of 5
4.799 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.799 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(393 reviews) 393
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 393 reviews
5 Stars
322
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
388 out of 39299%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
222 Questions | 248 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and works great

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
LKR
from Honolulu
State:HI - Hawaii
Age:35-44
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powers fridge, deep freezer, dryer and entertainment equipment no problem. Good bang for the buck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
pat45
from arlington
State:TX - Texas
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great generator it saved us during our last blackout in Oct 2014.Would recommend this to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfectly fits my needs!

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
DFW77
from Arlington
State:TX - Texas
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We're in the middle of a power outage caused by a severe line of storms. I went out and bought this generator without doing any research whatsoever -- I just needed a generator! It hasn't let me down. I'm currently powering my fridge (and the neighbor's fridge & freezers), my computer/router/modem, lights, and various other small appliances with no issues at all. In fact I'm currently typing this review on my computer that's on generator power. Wish it had a wattage gauge and an estimated time to empty fuel on it but those are minor details.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet unit for Power

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mitch
State:IL - Illinois
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The GP5500 is a replacement for an older Generator we have had for many years. This new generator is compact, reliable and functionally better than other 5000-6500W competitors. Easy of use with the attached handle is great. We use this for outdoor power in the woods and also as a backup when the weather turns. Reasonably quiet and full of juice to keep the group happy from lights to tools. Great Purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product highly reccomended

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Jon
from Joelton
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, great price great great great highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent !

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Tim
from Ray
State:ND - North Dakota
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I researched units for two weeks and this unit was best for the money! I have a food truck business in North Dakota's oil boom and needed reliable emergency backup power for outages! It runs my entire business with room to spare " that was the intention". Put the unit together and it started on the first pull! Good looking machine and is a power house too! Thank you generac!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator works good.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeSara
from Ridgway
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the GP5500 to use for my camper. It was so easy to set up and use. It was a perfect size and powered everything we used. However the wife and I had a problem lifting it on the back of the truck. A little heavy for us old farts. But other than that we were very happy with it's performance. I would recommend this product for those who have a camper. We also plan on using it as a back up when our electric goes out at home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent generator for the price

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Turbinemech
from Cincinnati
State:OH - Ohio
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work on utility sized generators. Generac is one of the best. I purchased this one for backing up my home during outages, and may use it for other projects or outings. The generator was simple to set up and assemble. I recommend using lock nuts or thread lock on the bolts, since they tend to vibrate loose as stated in other reviews. Put oil and gas in and the unit started first pull. The unit is noisy, but quieter than the gas drive welder that I have used in the past. Tested it with a Shop Vac and it worked perfectly. One note, I have always been taught to close the fuel valve and allow the engine to run out of fuel, this keeps the carburetor from gumming up. I have never had to rebuild a carburetor on any of the small engines I have owned.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

When you need power

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
dhandrewsSr
from Fennville
State:MI - Michigan
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most of us do not start and run our portable generator every week, so it may sit for several months between starts. But you want to know that wne you need it, it is there and capable. Our GP5500 sat for several months, and then I needed to use it and I pulled all the stuff off that was stored on top, pulled it out of the shed, checked the oil and fuel, turned on the fuel, ignition and closed the choke. I pulled the handle and on the very first easy pull, my generac started up.
What more could you want from a generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for continous use. But good for occasional use

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Marc
from Sulphur
State:KY - Kentucky
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We used our generator on occasion during power outages, or just when we needed portable power. We had no issues until we hooked it up to a 240 volt pump and used it continually for a couple weeks. It lost all power to the plugs, and it is still in the shop getting repaired. But i would recommend it to the weekend warior who just needs a occasional power boost.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Serves its purpose

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
tonon58
from Echo Bay
State:ON - Ontario
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted a generator to supply power to my home during storm and power out conditions. Has been a blessing in disguise and ready for the calling...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit noisy

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Firsttimehomeowner
from Hamilton
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this for an upcoming storm. We did indeed need it. I used it for two refridgerators, microwave, furnace and a space heater. Definitely held up. I read the spec sheet to not overload it and came close but it held up for sure. A bit on the noisy end. My neighbor can hear it two houses down. It did it's job and that's all I was concerned with.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It starts right up on the first cord pull.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
bob7
from Melbourne
State:FL - Florida
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator has been dependable from the start. It's there when needed without a having a sore arm trying to get it started, It starts instantly.
Best of all the GP5500 has all the power needed to run most of a house which is important to me, if a hurricane hit Florida, where I do live.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still trying this product haven't had it long enough to know for sure/

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ditchrider
from Blackfoot
State:ID - Idaho
Age:Over 65
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very easy to start. not sure we had trouble getting it to charge our trailer. It's in the shop now. Your telephone opperators are very kind and helpful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money spent for great features.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Milanomaker
from West Chester
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This model is outstanding for the homeowner who needs power. Living in the Northeast we experience power outages too frequently. This Generac model provides all that I need to power my furnace, refrigerator, lights, etc. Well worth the money spent for the peace of mind of knowing that Generac is an outstanding generator, with a reputable history. I would recommend this generator to everyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is dependable in an emergency.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
derrick73
from Havelock
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:55-64
Easy starting, quick installation, runs necessities in house.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>