Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

The GP5500 has enough power for emergency use, when you’re not using it for outdoor recreation and DIY projects.
Overall rating:
4.751 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(470 reviews) 470
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 470 reviews
5 Stars
374
4 Stars
81
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
460 out of 46799%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
256 Questions | 287 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator, just a couple nitpics

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
from Sarasota
State:FL - Florida
Age:Over 65
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this is a fine generator. Handles electrical loads as advertised, so no complaints from a performance standpoint. Just a couple suggestions: for ease of setup and maintenance, include a funnel for oil filling or extend the oil filler for easier use, make it clear in the setup instructions that the entire bottle of supplied oil should be put in, Also, mention that the oil dipstick should be screwed in all the way when checking oil level.
Disclaimer: if any of these were covered in the instructions, then I missed them - my fault. Like most, I didn't read every word of the manual.
It works great, but this is one noisy machine. Seems like more noise from the mechanicals than the exhaust (excellent muffler, by the way). Offering a kit to "wrap" the machine, or a vented cover, for quieter operation and weather protection would be welcome. I'd buy one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700September 1, 2015
Thank you for your positive review of the GP5500 portable generator. We are pleased to learn of your overall satisfaction with our manufactured product. In regards to your critiques of the product and provided information, please know that the unit is tested out of manufacturing and may contain a residual amount of oil upon the product's shipment. Considering this, the "Adding Engine Oil" portion of the Operation section in your unit's owner's manual suggests slowly filling the engine with oil through the oil fill opening, until the dipstick shows that the oil fill has reached its capacity; stop filling the unit occasionally to check the oil level. The Operation section also explicitly recommends installing the oil fill cap and tightening it securely prior to checking the oil level before each use. For additional information regarding the maintenance-related tasks, we would highly encourage you to use the Table of Contents portion of your owner's manual to locate the information that you are searching for.
Lastly, if your portable generator is needed during times of snow or rain, it is okay to run as long as it is under a protective covering, such as a car port or other sort of structure that still offers shelter from the precipitation while providing proper ventilation and clearances. Please note that due to overheating concerns and carbon monoxide emissions, a portable generator should never be run in an enclosed space. Moreover, attempting to add an exhaust extension to the unit for use in an enclosed area would be considered a product modification and would void the product’s warranty. If you have any other product-related inquiries, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We hope you find this information to be helpful, and again, we thank you for your detailed submission.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 5500

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Customer avatar
from little rock
State:AR - Arkansas
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality generator, but a little on the loud side. Easy start.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product work well

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer avatar
from Montreal
State:QC - Quebec
Age:25-34
I have my gp5500 since almost a year and i hade no trouble. I like it and it work at least 3 hours a day 5 day a week so it's a good investments. Now i just have a engine problems and i send it to a generac dealer and i have a good service over there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5500 Portable Generator

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Customer avatar
from Chicago
State:IL - Illinois
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent reliable power generator - the only brand we use. Would like to purchase the power washer to clean home siding & wooden fence.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great features

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Customer avatar
from wabash
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased product but haven't had a need for it yet. But impressed with most reviews I've seen .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer avatar
from Killbuck
State:OH - Ohio
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this 8/2/15. This is very easy to assemble. All there is to assemble is the wheels. handle. and feet. Add oil and fuel and it fired up on the second pull. Havent needed to use this yet but my plan when needed is to run fridge, lamps. fan, internet modem and tv. No doubt in my mind that this unit will handle that plus much more. Have a kerosene heater for heat in the winter so not running the furnace isnt a problem. For cooking we will use a 2 burner hot plate. Fiist time I fired it up I plugged in 3 hair dryers on high heat and generator never missed a beat or bogged down. Will start and run once a month for half hour and keep up on maintenance and Im sure I will get years of sevice from this.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for your house.

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Customer avatar
from seagrave
State:ON - Ontario
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally bought thus generator to run our house incase of a power outage, we had a storm go through our area and lost power for about 24 hours. I purchase the generator to run my sub pump, fridge and freezer. It had no problem running them all. I did purchase a heavy duty 240v/30 amp which I would recommend. The fuel tank last about 10 to 16 hours depending on the load.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700August 5, 2015
We are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our GP5500 portable generator! It is good to know that the unit is providing you with the power that you need! Thank you for providing us with your submission. Also, if you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your unit's warranty coverage. Please know that your unit can be registered online by providing the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati... . Moreover, if you have any questions about the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The product works good

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Customer avatar
from bay city
State:MI - Michigan
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This generator starts hard in the morning . After it is started works real good . It goes a long time on a tank of gas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powers the necessities

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer avatar
from appleton
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had an outage for 3 days this summer. I was able to run two refrigerators, lights and a sump pump without any issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer avatar
from Jackson
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this to replace smaller GP 3250, needed more power due to outages getting longer. Also 30A 110/220V connector allows connection to load centrr (breaker box) via disconnect switch. No more extension cords.
Wanted the LP 5500, but Generac does not allow that to be connected to a large propane tank, only 20 & 30 lb. bottles. Claims it will void the warrany, propane is propane??
GP 5500 is excellent and reccomend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This generator was easy to assemble, even during a power outage.

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
from town of brookfield
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had to assemble my unit during a power outage and it went together easily. It seems to be well built and very sturdy. I bought a generac because it had a good reputation, the price is a little high but I expect to have trouble free usage for years to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GP5500 Comes through during multiple rounds of storms

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Customer avatar
from Indianapolis
State:IN - Indiana
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We have been meaning to purchase a backup generator for sometime now, even doing a lot of research, mostly online, but also asked friends and neighbors too. From the research we did about backup generators, it was always stressed to buy one with a minimum of 5000 watts. We were leaning toward Generac, but we just never made the purchase. Mostly because, when we did lose power, it was short lived. So we thought, do we really need it?
Well, that was last year. This year, just after we lost power during one of the nastiest storms to pass through Indianapolis, Indiana in a very long time, we made the decision to get a Generac 5500. We are so glad we did.
This month, July of 2015, we were out of power for 2.5 days. Granted the GP5500 has the capability to power our entire home, at this time we needed it to power our Sump pump, freezer, fridge, and a few other electrical devices. Since we had received many inches of rain in June, and now in July, ground water was seeping into our sump pump pit and tripping the pump about every 5-7 minutes. So, we knew we couldn't keep up with hauling multiple 5 gallon buckets of water up the stairs of our basement and out the garage for more than just a few hours. Fortunately for us the assembly and quick start of the GP5500(unit) took less than 35 minutes! What made it even nicer was the power cord that came with the unit. Once plugged it into the unit, and after we had the unit up and running, we could add up to four additional electronic appliances. This is in addition to the four other outlets on the unit itself. Sweet! The GP5500 performed exceptionally in our emergency situation. We had it running our sump pump, freezer, refrigerator, a couple small fans, and a lamp, while able to charge our cell phones overnight.
Of course we had to stop the unit to fill the gas tank. We also decided to rest the unit for around 20-30 minutes prior to refueling, and and checked the oil. Over the course of the 2.5 days, we averaged over 9 hours of uninterrupted power! On the last day, when the sump pump was running about every 15 minutes, I determined the GP5500 could have ran 11 hours easy!
We have been very pleased by the performance of the GP5500. Although it was a little more money than we really wanted to pay, it was worth the investment. I should also mention, our unit did not have the electronic start, but it was no more difficult than starting a regular lawn mower. So I would recommend the GP5500 for anyone that is on the fence of taking that step toward purchasing a backup generator. Easy setup. Easy operation.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700July 17, 2015
Given the fact that you were without utility power for nearly three days, we are happy to know that our product was there for you and your family in your time of need! Moreover, we are pleased to learn that you were able to quickly assemble and easily startup your personal unit. To ensure that the product is appropriately registered for warranty-related purposes, please be sure to provide the required information through Generac Nation: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati... . If you have any questions about your portable generator, or the process required for registering your unit, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Thank you for your candid and highly-detailed submission.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good generator for the money

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer avatar
from ATCO
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From ATCO nj. Was without power for 7 days. Generator ran flawlessly .saved all food in refrigerator and freezer. Well worth the cost
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GeneracBy 8700July 10, 2015
Seven days is a long time to be without power! We are pleased to know that our product was there for you in your time of need! Thank you for providing us with your review. If you have not done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty. For your convenience, registration can be completed online: http://www.generac.com/generac-nati...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Juist in case!

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Customer avatar
from Jenks
State:OK - Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Generac 5500 was purchased because I live in Oklahoma. Weather and storms can cause power issue to come up year round. I find peace of mind knowing what ever my power situation is I can plan to have a least some degree of a normal household operation.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Power outage

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer avatar
from Fort Wayne
State:IN - Indiana
Age:55-64
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We had a major storm come thru on June 27, 2015 and knocked out all the power. I was told we would not get power until Tuesday June 30, 2015 at 11:59 pm and I needed to save my freezer food and other medicine so I had to get something quick. There was nothing to be had in the area of Fort Wayne, I had to go to Indianapolis, In to get it. I think the cost is a bit high for the machine. I again lost power on Tuesday June 30, at 346 pm I had the machine running for about 2 hours and it worked good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does the job

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer avatar
from Wenonah
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We lost power for six days and I was very happy with the job the generator did. It kept my refridge running, TV and DVR player and a couple of lamps. I will be adding a manual transfer switch so if loss power again I will be able to run gas boiler to have heat if needed and hot water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>