Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.801 out of 5
4.816 out of 5
4.771 out of 5
4.846 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.846 out of 5
4.816 out of 5
4.808 out of 5
4.801 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.801 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(352 reviews) 352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 352 reviews
5 Stars
289
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
348 out of 35199%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
209 Questions | 227 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Started right up out of box after assembly. Extremely easy to use.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
JustinCase
from Mishawaka
State:IN - Indiana
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought it after a summer storm wiped out our power for a couple of days. Worked like a charm. Now, after a long winter where we kept it filled with gas just in case of needed use (with a little Stabil, too), it started on the first pull. Extremely satisfied!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around perfect generator

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
streetglide1962
from Mukwonago
State:WI - Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I explored many options when i was going to purchase a generator. The GP5500 not only met those expectations it exceeded them. All around it is a perfect generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product at a good price

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
brad56
from midland
State:MI - Michigan
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter storm left us without power for a couple of days, after reading online reviews and consulting with local professionals I purchased the GP 5500 to power critical appliances when future outages occur. Having a portable generator in the garage is cheap insurance and gives you peace of mind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Lino
from Montreal
State:QC - Quebec
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This generator is relatively quiet and is sufficient to run a household during emergency condition or on site at work.
I am a General Contractor and I recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeckert76
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator was purchased to power our house at a minimum level during power outages. i.e.- sump pump (also the neighbors) , furnace, well pump, and a few lights It has performed flawlessly, It starts halfway through the first pull. Would recommend this generator to anyone looking for one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Complaints!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Nate
from Dallas
State:TX - Texas
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased it for using on construction sites, it performs as expected, extremely easy pull start. No problems or complaints about it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generac model 5500 is more than enough to power in emergency.

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
PAHOO43
from MIDDLETOWN
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After a long time looking and reading reviews I decided to purchase a GENERAC MODEL 5500 because of it's features and reliabilty. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a backup generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator handled my load with ease during a power outage.

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
elr53
from winston salem
State:NC - North Carolina
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed immediate power backup when an ice storm caused an extended power outage. Although I did not research or explore other options, I was very satisfied with this portable generator. It started reliably each time I attempted
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good unit for the price

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Phil
State:DE - Delaware
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit was purchesed after a 4 day power outage. I wish I bought it sooner. Very easy set up and the unit started on the first pull. Now I know I will be ready for the next time the power goes out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent generator!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Tom
from West Chester
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator is magnificent! Was able to keep everything needed on during the power outages that occurred in PA after the ice and snow storms. Extremely reliable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reputation and Product.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Cooper54
from Memphis
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Working for a utility company for 30 years Generac was the most seen generator out in the public. Now I know why. My wife and I absolutely love it. After loosing electricity due to a resent ice storm, we purchased our Generac GP5500 to power our 140+ year old home and 24 x 30 shop. It performed beautifully. Running refrigerators, central furnaces, TVs lights etc. This portable generator will definitely stay with us from now on. I really can't speak high enough about Genrac.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup when the lights go out

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob
from East Liverpool
State:OH - Ohio
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little loud and like to see you wattage meter on it but a great value when the lights and heat go out
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple setup-smooth engine

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Rangerlicious
from Evans Mills
State:NY - New York
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the genny and had it assembled and running in less than 30 minutes. I'm excited to have a power backup and an easy method to hook my 240v welder (saved me a very expensive power hookup)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, Durable Generator

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Tim
from Levittown
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent generator that is easy to maintain. Simple and easy set up. I would wish the set-up instructions were a little better explained. I am highly satisfied with this product, and I highly recommend it. It powers the essentials for a 1,300 square foot single family dwelling.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
bbb
from Clinton
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this generator for my home because for the price you can't find a better value. I was looking for something reliable and the Generac had all the features I was looking for
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like the looks and features of this generator.

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Doodle65
from Keysville
State:GA - Georgia
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my Generac generator after the big ice storm we had so I could be better prepared for the next power failure. I really like the looks of it and I started it up to check it out. The generator started on the very first pull. I was impressed with how quiet the generator ran and the ease of moving it around. I hope I will not need it for another power outage but I will be useing it for other jobs around the house.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>