Generac Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Generac
Shop GP Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.798 out of 5
4.81 out of 5
4.786 out of 5
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.881 out of 5
4.853 out of 5
4.81 out of 5
4.798 out of 5

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5500

Generac Power Systems GP5500

Overall rating:
4.798 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(415 reviews) 415
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 415 reviews
5 Stars
339
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
410 out of 41499%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
237 Questions | 265 Answers
Customer ratings and reviews GP5500
Review 1 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BMK1962
from Stony Point
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During the Sandy storm we used our GP5500 to run a portable heater, 2 refrigerators a few lights, TV and cable box and an occasional hair dryer. We did have to alternate some of the appliances so that we did not overload the unit.We used a 30 amp cable with 4 outlets bought separately to run 4 appliances leaving the other GP5500 outlets unused. Overall we are very happy with the generator. We really used it for only the essentials and to keep informed on what was going on elsewhere in the northeast. I would suggest the 30 amp manual transfer switch kit to avoid the extension cords, that is my next investment!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Theo
30 Amp manual transfer switch
Posted March 7, 2014
I just upgraded my GP 5500 to add the transfer switch. But now I can't lock in the male plug and the vibration makes it fall out. The manual says it should lock. My electrician suggested I jury rig some bungy cords.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Thanks, Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jovanni
from Sayreville
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use. The 5500 is compact and has plenty of power. Backup my house during Sandy for 7 days. 5 gallons of gas for 10 hours , 2 fridges , heating system, water heater, electric kettle and light.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for what you get.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
CC
from Juliustown
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 1st I've owned. Sandy motivated the purchase. Had to go on a waiting list and Lowes came through on Sunday before. Wired it into the panel. Set-up was easy. It started right up. Had to use it for 24 hours after Sandy and 24 hours after the nor'easter (Andrea?). Powered the whole house with no problems. This generator has provided a long awaited peace of mind.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit,

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave
from Brooklyn
State:NY - New York
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this days after hurricane Irene, didn't start it until the night of hurricane Sandy. Started right away after carb was primed. Was the envy of the neighborhood because I had prewired the house with a manual transfer switch so this generator became plug and play basically running my entire house. Can prob run a few window a/c units for summer outages if necessary. Worked well with very little effort.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK so far.

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Jim
from Loganton
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good. Have not had it at full load yet. So far it has been starting very good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GP5500 Generac Power

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Kyle
from Moore
State:OK - Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and quite the work horse I purchased new on May 13 2013 for the Tornado in Moore, OK and this little generator kept three refrigerators going for the weeks we were without power. Great fuel capacity and very versatile. Generac is a great great brand with great customer service. Get the best, get a Generac!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Hits the Mark

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Greg
from Auburn
State:KY - Kentucky
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my 5500 for a back up after having power outages caused by inclement weather. Two days after I received the unit I had to use it. It was simple to connect the wheels and the handle as well as adding the start up oil. The most amazing part was that I barely pulled the start rope and she fired right up. The generator was flawless in it's first operation and I am so proud of my purchase. I've used other generators and the Generac has sold me. I would highly recommend this unit! Great job Generac!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Broke after only 15 hours

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Kaylee
from Hurricane
State:UT - Utah
Age:18-24
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We didn't use it that much and after 13 hours of use it started to pull over with difficulty. Took it to Generac repair man and he fixed it up under warranty. Other than the issues arising so quickly the generator has served every purpose we have needed it for and was easy to start prior to the issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

god report quality /price

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
baseballjp1953
from St-Romuald
State:QC - Quebec
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For home,this generator is affordable and have great fiability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is reasonably priced and works great.

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Gore
from Mertztown
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this generator at a local hardware store, brought it home and unpacked it, minor assembly required only took about 15 Min, put the oil in and filled the gas and the unit started on the first pull.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

moved to a more rural area.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
dunerunner
from linden
State:AZ - Arizona
Age:25-34
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moved to more rural area. Needed more of a peace if mind. Always heard that this brand was one of the best for the money. Haven't used it yet but definitely this summer for camping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the price

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Phil
from staten Island
State:NY - New York
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased for running critical home systems....refrigeration/heat/lights.....could not be more satisfied.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the heat on, easy to start

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
gram
from Manchester
State:NH - New Hampshire
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator replaces one we've had for 24 years. It runs quieter than my previous one and is easier to start. Was easy to assemble and fits nicely into the slot where we kept our other one. Manual tells about putting stabile in the gas tank. Wouldn't have used it if the manual didn't explain that it would be good to use it. Like the looks of this generator.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
DM73
from Moncton
State:NB - New Brunswick
Age:35-44
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought as backup and for camping. Very easy to setup, started very easily and seems to work good so far. Didn't have to use yet, but tested and it performed well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
rich
from n yarmouth
State:ME - Maine
Age:Over 65
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to set up .like the long run time.Does the whole house with ease.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great power

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Tjfromtheswamp
State:LA - Louisiana
Age:55-64
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this unit for power while camping then started build a new home it provides more than enough power for anything we need it has 1062 hrs. on it and runs great with only general maintenance . It does a few very minor issues it is loud but that's not an issue very minor issue with the fuel gauge but I would recommend this unit thinking of getting another power unit and unless I find a used unit at a very cheap price I will get another generac
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

looks great, easy start, feul efficient

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Pam
from Peterborough
State:NH - New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was everything I needed and wanted in a generator. The only problem I have is with the pull rope assembly. After only 21 hours on it, the pull assembly plastic parts inside broke, so when I really needed the generator during the power outage of our first major storm, I had to go without heat for almost 24 hourz because I couldnf start it. So my only suggestion is to make better parts for the pull start. Other than that it is a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Savior
Massachusetts
plastic gear in recoil starter broke
Posted December 8, 2014
I really like the unit, purchased 2/13, used one time for a power outage lasting 25 hrs. Same thing, during periodic start up the plastic gear in the recoil starter broke, had to replace whole unit for $50. Glad it did not happen when I needed it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Farm
from Boise
State:ID - Idaho
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great generator that we mainly use for a home back up, it is also used for camping and what not. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that it is VERY loud, but besides that it seems to be flawless!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GP5500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This generator has everything in a portable

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
GeoW
from Bernville
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent several days shopping both on-line and in local stores for a generator for both back-up electric for our home, and use in remote construction projects. This generac is the perfect fit for our needs. The only minor suggestions for improvement are: the unit comes with 30 weight oil and many users live in cold areas where this would not be the best choice.... and, the oil fill neck on the unit is a little difficult to access. My congrats, however, the generator started on the first pull, here in PA (temperature was in the high 20's).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GP5500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This had the most bang for the buck- it does everything a more expensive one would, except it's louder...

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
CK
from Vashon
State:WA - Washington
Age:45-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator provides the most bang for the buck- it does everything a more expensive one would do, just louder... Which could be a factor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>