Generac Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Generac Power Systems GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Generac.

Generac Power Systems GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA

gp5000
Overall rating:
4.825 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 40100%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer ratings and reviews GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Review 1 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
THB55
from Charleston
State:SC - South Carolina
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Camping
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the generator for camping and tailgating. Used it for tailgating and had no issues, started on first pull and ran for 19 hours with one refuel. Definitely recommend this product.
My unit backs up Tailgating, Camping
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator for the money

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
pat L
from Ringwood
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this generator for several years and never fails me. I have it hooked up to a 10 circuit transfer switch which handle all my essentials. Well pump, heat, 2 refrigerators, lights , microwave, TV, alsarm system, TV, Fish tank, landscape lighting. I always let the gas run dry when turning off and must run at half choke. Always starts on first pull.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good solid genset, worth buying

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike S
from Pompton Lakes
State:NJ - New Jersey
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worked immediately, not too loud, constant, uniform power. Used gas fairly quickly, like all others, so need larger gas can (5 gal min). very solid built unit, very heavy (a good thing), nice power cord for 110/220. only problem I had was the recoil starter broke in first week, a fluke I am sure. had to remove the cover and use a rope. Used it for a week steady during Hurricane Sandy in NJ. recommended.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
WGE
from Long Branch
State:NJ - New Jersey
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had one of these loaned to us after hurricane Sand. Still out of power we had a snowy night, the generator was covered by a lean-to and started (one pull) despite the cold. I also think that we were getting better than estimated run time per gallon of fuel.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS PRODUCTS WORKS!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
AD
State:VA - Virginia
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I BOUGHT THIS GENERATOR BEFORE SANDY HIT. I DIDN'T NEED IT THEN' BUT WE
HAD A SNOW STORM AND HAVE BEEN WITHOUT POWER FOR ALMOST 3 DAYS, AND NO POWER YET. GENERATOR HAS WORKED FLAWLESSLY!!!!!!!!!
WE HAVE HUGE GENERAC GENERATORS AT WORK AND THEY ARE VERY GOOD MACHINES!!!!!!!!
I RECOMMEND THESE TO ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR PORTABLE, OR BACK UP POWER!!!!!!!!
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blizzard of 2013

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
mudcat
from Quincy
State:MA - Massachusetts
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this unit 2 years ago and never had to use it until Blizzard 2013. Live in Quincy, MA and official snowfall was 30".
We lost power and for 24 hours during storm.
I hooked up to transfer switch, powered up Boiler, demand hot water, fridge, lights, pretty much had everything I need normally.
Worked like a champ. Started with 2-3 pulls, used less gas that specs show.
I start it every 3 months and run for 15 minutes. Use Stabil in fuel as recommended. This unit ROCKS!
I may upgrade to natural gas whole house 8kw unit.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mudcat
Quincy, MA
Propane conversion
Posted January 7, 2014
I have recently installed a tri-fuel conversion kit and this generator runs flawlessly on propane.
I continue to start it every few months… it does seem to take more pulls to start but runs very smoothly on propane.
Will add natural gas (from house) soon.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dependable product

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
stevecat511
from Kinderhook
State:NY - New York
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Generac Generator was purchased a couple of days before Hurricane/Super Storm Sandy was to hit the northeast. Not wanting to be without at least a portable heater to use for my wife, we needed to have a generator. So, we were able to secure one at a small country hardware store. We spent more than we would have somewhere else but, we had peace of mind and a great product. Super Storm Sandy never ended up hitting us but, living where we do, we always end up losing power in the wintertime. I am confident that this generator will give us all the comforts we will need when we eventually lose power! I have started it up and each time I have, even in the freezing weather, she cranks right up! What a girl! Now, if I could only get my wife to do the same! lol
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well built

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
thevoo
from Coopersburg
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't had a chance to really test it in a power outage yet, but it seems to be well built & easy to operate. The 30 amp. 240 volt plug was my main reason for the purchase. This option should be enough to power most of the items I need to power up when power fails.Would recommend the Generac to friends.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator!!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Kevin63
from Newtown Square
State:PA - Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this generator before Hurricane Irene hit because, being new to my house, my neighbor told me we lose power all the time. SInce I have a sump pump that runs about every 2 minutes, I needed backup power. Well Irene came and went and we never lost power. I did lose power over the next year a few times for very brief periods and the generator fired right up each time. Finally, Hurricane Sandy hit out area and we lost power for 29 hours. The only time I stopped the generator was to put more gas in it. It ran great. I ran a sump pump, fridge, TV, cable box, modem, router, lights, laptops and cell phone chargers. It was awesome! The only downside to this model is that it lacks an electric starter which I don't need but it would make it easier if my wife ever needs to start the generator when I'm not home.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super product ran all essential items in house

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
ts
from bethel
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ran much longer on a tank than listed run time no issues great product
My unit backs up Camping, Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with this product

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
4Cajuns
from Breaux Bridge
State:LA - Louisiana
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just purchased this product as a back up for Hurricane issac. We were concerned about the brand as this was one of the only generators available. It worked out great.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Reliable! Starts Quickly and Easily Every Time!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
EMMMW
from Pensacola
State:FL - Florida
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this generator over a year ago to use as back-up power in a hurricane-prone area. Luckily haven't needed it yet, but I know the day will come and feel confident that this generator will start and provide the necessary power to minimally operate our home (refrigerators and such). I wanted to buy a whole-house generator but the $8,000 the local knuckleheads wanted to hook it up I feel I'm okay with a portable generator. I also have a big motorhome to live in that is self-sufficient should I need it, so the basic power necessities will suffice. The main thing required of this generator (or any other generator) is exercising it monthly! I start this EVERY month and run it for 30 minutes ~ 1 hour and it always starts by the 3rd pull. It actually starts quicker than my Onan generator in my motorhome. This is a great product and I have no reservations about recommending it and would buy another should I need one.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Roy in Defiance
from Defiance
State:OH - Ohio
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got my generator yesterday so I can't yet vouch for how long it will last, but it is a very well made machine. It was very simple to assemble, by myself. I am near 60, so keep that in mind. I put the handles and wheels and everything on and then added the included oil. I put about a gallon of gas in and pulled the choke out and pulled the cord. It started first pull. It runs quiet enough, but still noisy, as all generators like this are. We just went a week without power so this will give me peace of mind and will be used for outdoor parties too. I am very pleased with my purchase.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't undervalue reliability

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
OrangeCrazy
from Lombard
State:IL - Illinois
Age:35-44
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Generac GP5000 replaced a competitors generator (similar size, etc) because after 2.5 years of owning the other unit I finally gave up on the fact that whenever I needed it, it would not start or run correctly. I cared for the old one very well, Stabil in the gas, ran it dry, started it a few times per year but each time power was out I was there with my flashlight cleaning the carb or other hassle to get it running.
My Generac runs like a clock. Never had a problem with it, even after six months of sitting in the garage. Recent three day power outage in 100 degree heat would not have been survivable without my Generac.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my second year of owning this generator and it has never failed me so I would always reconmend this product

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
pokey1776
from Groveport
State:OH - Ohio
Age:Over 65
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second year of owning this generator and it has never failed me so I would always reconmend this product.It starts on the second pull and just does a good job for me.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be easier to use!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
J0456
from Avon
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real lifesaver during the storm in October 2011. We were without power for 9 days and f not for the generator we would have lost everything.
John
Avon, CT
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to start and maintain

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer avatar
M.J 56
from new haven
State:CT - Connecticut
Age:45-54
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this at my local hardware store in Ct. after Irene. Was
pleasantly surprised to find one so easily for around 600 dollars. Power was restored two hours later! Yet, I was all set
for our Oct. storm! Electricians said this was a good product.
Was able to power furnace, sump pump,alarm system, and fridge. I even had power left over for luxuries such as lights in my kitchen and family room.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome overall!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
RHL KART RACING
State:ON - Ontario
This purchase was for:Other
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just purchased this really nice unit for use at the race track for kart racing (and in case of potential power outages at home).
I was lucky to get this generator at a great close out price at a local building supply store so right out of the gate I'm happy!!!
This machine is a heavy beast but having said that, there's a lot of generator there. This is a well built unit top to bottom and the quality and ruggedness of the frame and components is clearly apparent.
I pulled it out of the well packaged box and within about 10 minutes the wheels and handles where installed, filled it up with oil and fresh gas, pulled the crank twice and it fired right up and ran strong. The sounds is very acceptable considering the size of the engine. So far I'm very happy with the whole machine and it looks pro!
My unit backs up Home backup power, Other
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Priceless in an outage.

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Judy E
from Inverness
State:IL - Illinois
Age:55-64
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This generator has saved us through many power outages. We had a flash flood this past summer and were lucky enough to get the last generator. Everyone should have a generator for back up with power outages. Our area has had many in the past few years. We only wish we would have purchased one a little sooner.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for GP5000 Watt Portable,CSA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

unable to find my model # 0055771

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
edjiu
from Cookeville
State:TN - Tennessee
Age:Over 65
This purchase was for:Home Backup Power
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Setup 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased after tornado hit our area. Was easy to set up and use. I did no checking on buying this or any other generator, did not have time as time was short. Very please with it so far.
Never owned a generator before this.
My unit backs up Home backup power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>